Big Guy Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Delicious filling. I didn't make the crust, I just made a regular pie crust instead. The filling is great because the Jello gives the filling an extra strawberry kick. The amount of cornstarch is just right so the filling isn't soupy, yet it's not rubbery-firm either. The only modification I made was to add a tablespoon of lemon juice for some contrast to the sweetness. This is my go-to recipe, it's so easy (especially if you use a pre-made pie crust).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Awesome! I replaced the corn starch with flour since I live in Germany and cannot find that here. (2:1 ratio) I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
the crust is wonderful, holds up tot he strawberry goo very well. The flavor of this pie is great, but could use a little more cornstarch. The pie looked great until I cut it. Turned into bowls of goo and whipped cream. I will try this pie again with more cornstarch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made this recipe for Easter yesterday and loved it! I made it as written but when pressing the crust into a 9 inch pie plate there was not enough to bring it up the sides so I made another 1/2 batch and that worked great but had to cook it a little longer. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashleynicole
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I only used the recipe for this crust but for the filling i used the strawberry glazed pie recipe. This crust is really good its basically a shortbread crust and just melts in your mouth. next time i might add a tablespoon of powdered sugar cuz i'd like it more sweet; i have a sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Awesome recipe!!! Next time, I will add 1/2 the ingredients for the filling, wasn't quite enough to cover the berries, or maybe I had too many berries :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babs2009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Made for work potluck.. everyone loved it! Really easy and looked so pretty. Need to double the sauce and add 1 package of jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
glaze only
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Best strawberry pie I've ever had and I don't have a big sweet tooth. Made it for my husband but cut the sugar by half (for me). It turned out wonderfully with a perfect flakiness to the crust. Thank you for such a simple and delicious fresh pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahjane85

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This is simple & so good, I guess you could use ready-made strawberry glaze too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States