Big Guy Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I've made this pie twice in the past week! It's wonderful! I quartered my strawberries because I like the texture better than just big strawberries and gel, I would use 2 1/2 cups of quartered strawberries and instead of pouring the gel over them I would first mix the strawberries and gel, then pour them into the crust to get everything more evenly set. LOVED the crust, so easy and tastey. I used glass pie dishes and sprayed them with nonstick baking spray and there was no sticking with the crust, which really surprised me because I always have trouble with the crust sticking on other recipes. Husband loved it too, I'm sure I'll be making this again next time we have strawberries in the hosue. I wonder if you could do this with blueberries and blue food coloring...sounds like it might work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
...I love this recipe!!...The crust is SO good!..I didn't have red food coloring and used the strawberry jello trick too..also, my crust started to slide so halfway through I took it out of the oven and pushed it back up with a spoon..turned out awesome!!! I quartered my strawberries and covered with the syrup while it was still pourable..LOVE this recipe! Thanks Pat for this yummy pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I used my own pie crust recipe, and used this "simple syrup" method but but instead of just food coloring I added a pkt. of strawberry flavored Kool-Aid. It was delicious and gorgeous. Some had mentioned that it wasn't sweet enough, but the Kool-Aid certainly took care of that. I also added about 1/4 cup more sugar and would probably just stick with the amount called for in the recipe, it was REALLY sweet but so good. I'm going to cut back the amount of cornstarch next time as it seemed a little too coagulated. My three boys and husband loved it as well. Took some pictures as this was one of the prettiest pies I've ever made. Thanks for sharing your recipe. I knew a lot of recipes call for gelatin and I was out so this was perfect. As many changed as I made, I still give it a 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I used the glazed berry portion of this recipe, but haven't tried the crust. The glaze was simple to make, and came out almost exactly as I had hoped it would. It wasn't sweet enough for my liking though. For me it definitely needs more sugar. A good summer recipe though when you have plenty of strawberries on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I made this with my 4 1/2 year old daughter. Very easy and very yummy - everyone loved. I sprayed a little non-stick spray on my pie pan before baking the crust, and had no problems with the crust sticking like some other people mentioned. Will make again for company!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
This pie is delicious! I did not make the crust, used a store bought frozen one, and still everyone raved about this pie. I will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Best strawberry pie EVER! Everyone in my family loves it and I can never wait for the glazing to cool before the whole thing is my belly! If you can't make a homemade crust, or don't have the stuff to make it, I used the instant ones (usually 2 per package) but sometimes not as buttery or flakey. Great either way! YUMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALPHABET672

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casco, Maine, USA
Living In: Cornelius, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
The taste of this crust was nice, however, mine like others, stuck in the pan. I even greased the dish first but it was almost impossible to get out of the pan. The sauce was okay, it tasted very sweet and a lot like vanilla; I think it needed something for a bit of tartness, or maybe leave out the vanilla?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I used this recipe for the crust and was not very pleased. Instead of forming a side crust on the pie plate, it slid down during baking and was like a large cookie at the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Great and east!!! My daughter, who was skeptical, loved it! Only problem was that the crust stuck to the pan, I used a stoneware pie dish, guess I should have greased it. I baked the crust for 14 minutes. Some reviews said the syrup did not thicken , I followed the recipe exactly and it thickened great. I always dissolve the cornstarch with some of the water called for in the recipe before adding it with the other ingredients to make sure it mixes completely. I added the food dye after it thickened. At first, when I tasted the syrup after it thickened, I thought it was sweet, but not what I wanted for the pie. However, after pouring it over the berries in the crust, refrigerating the pie, and then serving, it was perfect. I thought it was the perfect amount of syrup/glaze for the pie, I used 2 quarts of berries ( the size one larger than the pint- think that is a quart), hulled the berries, and laid the berries on their side with the point of each berrie going into the hole where the next berry was hulled. This packed them in, and then had a few extra to stand upright on top. The crust was great for this pie. Definately will make again, so easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States