Big Guy Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I made this one evening and it was gone in a flash. All I got was one little piece :-( But that piece was wonderful and apparantly everyone else in my household thought so too. Will definitely be keeping this on my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This is a wonderful strawberry pie. I did make a couple of changes though. After baking the pie crust and cooling it I take 1/2 of an 8oz pkg. of cream cheese mixed with a tablespoon of powdered sugar and put that on the bottom of the crust before adding the strawberries. Also, when making the "sweet syrup" I add about 2 or 3 tablespoons of lemon or lime juice (just enough to give it a little tart taste) and a 1/2 pkg. strawberry jello. Very, very good. thank you Pat for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This was really good, and SO easy. I was a little wary because of the weird gelatine thing, but this was actually really good. It is not gourmet, but really good and VERY easy! I am giving it five stars for how easy and tasty it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simsbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
love the crust! followed the recipe and the crust came out brilliant. had to bake it for more than 15 mins though. *** greased and dusted the pan with a lil flour so the pie slid off the pan perfect. i did my pie with 1/2 strawberries and 1/2 cherries. great combo. except next time i would use more berries and less gel ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Excellent pie!!! Used whole frozen strawberries that I defrosted, drained, cut into halves and sprinkled an 1/8 th cup of sugar over them. Added a total of 3 tablespoons cornstarch into the cup of water and then added the sugar, salt and food coloring. When the glaze was cool I gently mixed the strawberries into the glaze and then filled my own pie crust. This pie set up beautifully over night. No drips or runs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
My big guy and I loved this! The crust was great, I didnt have any problems with it. I did use butter instead of marg., though. I quartered my strawberries, too and mixed them in well with the sugar combo. before adding to pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
great strawberry pie though i cooked the pastry for over 15 minutes, but still wasnt cooked. nonetheless the strawberries went well with the topping. i also added strawberry flavouring into the topping mixture. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I have tried this pie 3 time is the past week. I have followed others suggestions, but still can't get it to turn out. It always taste great, but never looks the best. The first time the filling did not thicken & I did not grease my pan so it stuck. The second time my sauce turned out great, but I greased my pan & the crust slid down & formed a big cookie. I through the filling in a store bought crust. I seem to have the filling down( I use the kool aid for color & sweetness) but the crust mever seems to fit all the way up the sides of the pie pan. The taste is awesome. Just wish I could get the crust down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I had never made a pie before and made this one. It came out perfect! It was so easy and very good. Next time I will try using butter instead of margerine for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
YUMMY! I love the crust and will try it with other recipes. I just sprayed the bottom of the glass pie plate and had no trouble with sticking or sides sliding down. I found the syrup sweet enough, and I used 1/2 sugar and 1/2 splenda. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States