Big Guy Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I made this one evening and it was gone in a flash. All I got was one little piece :-( But that piece was wonderful and apparantly everyone else in my household thought so too. Will definitely be keeping this on my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This is a wonderful strawberry pie. I did make a couple of changes though. After baking the pie crust and cooling it I take 1/2 of an 8oz pkg. of cream cheese mixed with a tablespoon of powdered sugar and put that on the bottom of the crust before adding the strawberries. Also, when making the "sweet syrup" I add about 2 or 3 tablespoons of lemon or lime juice (just enough to give it a little tart taste) and a 1/2 pkg. strawberry jello. Very, very good. thank you Pat for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This was really good, and SO easy. I was a little wary because of the weird gelatine thing, but this was actually really good. It is not gourmet, but really good and VERY easy! I am giving it five stars for how easy and tasty it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simsbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
love the crust! followed the recipe and the crust came out brilliant. had to bake it for more than 15 mins though. *** greased and dusted the pan with a lil flour so the pie slid off the pan perfect. i did my pie with 1/2 strawberries and 1/2 cherries. great combo. except next time i would use more berries and less gel ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Excellent pie!!! Used whole frozen strawberries that I defrosted, drained, cut into halves and sprinkled an 1/8 th cup of sugar over them. Added a total of 3 tablespoons cornstarch into the cup of water and then added the sugar, salt and food coloring. When the glaze was cool I gently mixed the strawberries into the glaze and then filled my own pie crust. This pie set up beautifully over night. No drips or runs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
My big guy and I loved this! The crust was great, I didnt have any problems with it. I did use butter instead of marg., though. I quartered my strawberries, too and mixed them in well with the sugar combo. before adding to pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
great strawberry pie though i cooked the pastry for over 15 minutes, but still wasnt cooked. nonetheless the strawberries went well with the topping. i also added strawberry flavouring into the topping mixture. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I have tried this pie 3 time is the past week. I have followed others suggestions, but still can't get it to turn out. It always taste great, but never looks the best. The first time the filling did not thicken & I did not grease my pan so it stuck. The second time my sauce turned out great, but I greased my pan & the crust slid down & formed a big cookie. I through the filling in a store bought crust. I seem to have the filling down( I use the kool aid for color & sweetness) but the crust mever seems to fit all the way up the sides of the pie pan. The taste is awesome. Just wish I could get the crust down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I had never made a pie before and made this one. It came out perfect! It was so easy and very good. Next time I will try using butter instead of margerine for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
YUMMY! I love the crust and will try it with other recipes. I just sprayed the bottom of the glass pie plate and had no trouble with sticking or sides sliding down. I found the syrup sweet enough, and I used 1/2 sugar and 1/2 splenda. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States