Big Guy Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2004
This is a great recipe but I have a few suggestions before starting on this recipe... About the crust.....It's not a pie crust it's a modified cookie dough recipe so don't roll it out. After making the "crust", form it into a ball and place the ball in the middle of a SPRAYED pie pan, flatten and spread the cookie dough crust out and up the sides of the pan with your fingers, it will get sticky but instead of watering or oiling your fingers just lightly flour the surface of the dough. It also takes about 12-15 minutes for the crust to brown around the edges. Don't wait for the crust to get totally browned because when it cools it will crumble like an overbaked cookie. For the glaze.....the cornstarch needs to be dissolved in cold water before being placed in the saucepan with the rest of the ingredients, so reserve 1/2 cup of the water needed in the glaze to dissolve the cornstarch in, then pour the cornstarch mixture in with the rest of the ingredients. Also, once the glaze comes to a boil reduce the heat to low. The glaze will thicken upon cooling. When ready to assemble the pie, you may need to reheat the glaze slightly to get it to pouring consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This is a wonderful strawberry pie. I did make a couple of changes though. After baking the pie crust and cooling it I take 1/2 of an 8oz pkg. of cream cheese mixed with a tablespoon of powdered sugar and put that on the bottom of the crust before adding the strawberries. Also, when making the "sweet syrup" I add about 2 or 3 tablespoons of lemon or lime juice (just enough to give it a little tart taste) and a 1/2 pkg. strawberry jello. Very, very good. thank you Pat for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
This was very good but pretty sweet. I think next time I will cut back a little on the sugar or add a Tbsp. of lemon juice, as a previous reviewer recommended. Also, it could use a little more crust. I will probably increase the ingredients by 50%. Also, it did not want to come out of the pan cleanly so the pieces were not very presentable. Next time, I will give my pan a quick shot of spray oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shak
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I got to say i really didnt care alot for this recipe all though my husband loved it... there was just something missing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2003
I tried this recipe with one of the suggestions to add a little jello to the sauce. Actually, I used a whole box and it works wonderfully. I've also used this recipe as a template for making a peach variety using red and yellow food coloring and peach jello. Absolutely wonderful!!! Everyone who has had some of either version loved it and wants more!!!! I'm going to try a tropical version next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Best strawberry pie EVER! Everyone in my family loves it and I can never wait for the glazing to cool before the whole thing is my belly! If you can't make a homemade crust, or don't have the stuff to make it, I used the instant ones (usually 2 per package) but sometimes not as buttery or flakey. Great either way! YUMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALPHABET672

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casco, Maine, USA
Living In: Cornelius, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
The crust was exceptionally good; the consistency of it is more like a cookie dough, but don't worry, it turns out great when baked! For a holiday pie, try using green food coloring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
WOW! I have to admit that when I decided to try this, I was making it for my kids and thought there was no way it would be better than my mother's strawberry pie. WOW! Was I wrong. We all really loved the taste and texture. I did double the amount of the glaze though so it would cover more of the strawberries. This is definitely what I'll be taking to family functions and work potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
I added 2 Tablespoons of strawberry Jell-O to the recipe. It made the strawberry flavor much richer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I absolutely loved this recipe. It was very simple to make and turned out very well. The crust was delicious. I actually made a little extra crust because I love a good crust in a pie. Will certainly make this pie again...and will use the crust recipe for other pies! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States