Big Guy Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by IVANDIEPART
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
This is a wonderful strawberry pie. The fact that the fruit don't need to be cooked gives it the real flavour of the strawberries. I didn't have any problem with the cookie crust, but I mixed the sugar and cornstarch in the saucepan before adding water; this way, 5 minutes from boiling point was the perfect time. Pressing the dough evenly in the pan was what took me the more time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
This was a good tasting dessert. I used butter instead of margarine for the crust, and forgot the vanilla extract, and it still tasted excellent. I think I overcooked the glaze; it turned out really gloppy on the strawberries. I think next time I make this I'll toss the strawberries in the glaze first before putting the strawberries in the pie shell, which will make for an even coating of glaze. And indeed, as others have said the crust is what makes this dessert special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
The crust on this pie is delicious. However, when baking the crust it didn't brown in the 8-10 minutes suggested. It just needs to be baked a little longer. Next time I might use a little less cornstarch in the glaze. It was a little thick for my taste. Overall, it was great with a big dollop of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
This was fantastic.I used the prev tip about sprinkling flour over the dough and it worked a treat because it is VERY VERY STICKY. I only used 1/2 cup sugar because of prev suggestions of the syrup being too sweet. It was perfect and my husband (who after 10 years informed me he didn't like strawberries) loved it and has asked for it every night - not very likely. Thank you so much Pat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
This is hands down the BEST fruit pie crust. I have used this with strawberry, blueberry and even lemon pie. Any recipe that needs a sweet baked crust this is the one that I will go with. Everybody who tries it demands that I give them the recipe. It is so crisp, quite like shortbread. And EASY! I'd give it 10 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBSEPKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
the sweet shortbread pastry was wonderful. My family just loved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
This is a great recipe but I have a few suggestions before starting on this recipe... About the crust.....It's not a pie crust it's a modified cookie dough recipe so don't roll it out. After making the "crust", form it into a ball and place the ball in the middle of a SPRAYED pie pan, flatten and spread the cookie dough crust out and up the sides of the pan with your fingers, it will get sticky but instead of watering or oiling your fingers just lightly flour the surface of the dough. It also takes about 12-15 minutes for the crust to brown around the edges. Don't wait for the crust to get totally browned because when it cools it will crumble like an overbaked cookie. For the glaze.....the cornstarch needs to be dissolved in cold water before being placed in the saucepan with the rest of the ingredients, so reserve 1/2 cup of the water needed in the glaze to dissolve the cornstarch in, then pour the cornstarch mixture in with the rest of the ingredients. Also, once the glaze comes to a boil reduce the heat to low. The glaze will thicken upon cooling. When ready to assemble the pie, you may need to reheat the glaze slightly to get it to pouring consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
I was very disappointed with this recipe. It turned out 100% too sweet and syrupy. I was hoping for something more like a fruit tart, but its sweeter than any fruit pie I've ever had. I even added several tablespoons of lime juice because of what other reviewers had written. Also, I added 1/4 box of lemon jello because I was worried about the sauce thickening properly as most reviewers noted trouble with this. I'm glad I did that. I would never try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
i never tried the recipe. but it sounds so good! the way it was described made me hungry and I just ate dinner. anyway- sounds great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
This is my third time looking for this recipe. Each time I make it, I fall in love with it again. So simple, and a great way to use the large boxes of strawberries I buy in the spring and summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States