Big Germans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I made this last night as a quick sweet dinner and I wasn't disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly, except I substituted lactose free milk and butter. Doubling the batter, I made two pancakes. They took exactly 20 minutes to bake and they puffed up to enormous proportions. It looked spectacular! Everyone oohed and ahhed as it came out of the oven! I chopped some fresh strawberries in advance and sprinkled them with sugar. We had nice sweet strawberries and syrup to put on top, along with some lactose free whipped cream. On the table I put a bottle of lemon juice and a shaker with some powdered sugar. Let me tell you, the taste was heavenly! It was very similar to eating strawberry shortcake, except with very little effort. I'm going to be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
It was really good! My kids love it so am I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I like to split the recipe in half. I pour each half into 8x8 pans. One I leave as is and serve with strawberries and powdered sugar. The other half I mix in things such as bacon, sausage, cheese, mushrooms, etc. Both bake with normal directions and are DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I use this recipe, but with the 1/8 tsp salt and the 6 eggs (sometimes as many as 8) from German Pancakes II recipe and generally omit the confectioners' sugar. The whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CharmedKim
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This was my first attempt at making this type of pancake and it was great. This is such an easy recipe. I would, however, either cut back on the amount of salt or use unsalted butter. I'll definitely be making this again and experimenting with different toppings, both sweet and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was wonderful I added cinnamon & vanilla to my batter. I also topped with caramelized brown sugar & bananas. Then I sprinkled it with powdered sugar. This would probably also be good topped with blueberry pie filling :) My only complaint is the amount of butter used ... I will try to half it next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I liked this recipe but there is definitely too much butter for my taste. My family is SUPER picky and none of my 3 kids or my husband liked it. I may try to make again for company and use less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Smith Weiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Awesome awesome! I've used a couple other German pancake recipes on this site and was not getting the puffy results I wanted. This is the one that worked, and my entire family loved it! Since I love sweet, I added a tablespoon of honey. Instead of the lemon glaze, I used a yummy sauce that consisted of butter, brown sugar, cinnamon, and cream. Oh yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Dutch pancakes are so easy and the perfect breakfast for busy mornings. I love them served with fresh fruit and pure maple syrup. Half this recipe fits perfectly in a 7 inch cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Oh my gosh, delicious! I prepared as directed, divided the dough in half, and added cinnamon and sugar to half the batter. I put the two batters in two different 9 in cake rounds. When they were done, I put sausage and cheese in one and put it back in the oven with the broiler to melt the cheese. We added strawberries and powdered sugar to the other. Simply awesome! Great texture. Pretty easy! Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States