Big Germans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
It was really good! My kids love it so am I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I like to split the recipe in half. I pour each half into 8x8 pans. One I leave as is and serve with strawberries and powdered sugar. The other half I mix in things such as bacon, sausage, cheese, mushrooms, etc. Both bake with normal directions and are DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I use this recipe, but with the 1/8 tsp salt and the 6 eggs (sometimes as many as 8) from German Pancakes II recipe and generally omit the confectioners' sugar. The whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CharmedKim
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This was my first attempt at making this type of pancake and it was great. This is such an easy recipe. I would, however, either cut back on the amount of salt or use unsalted butter. I'll definitely be making this again and experimenting with different toppings, both sweet and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was wonderful I added cinnamon & vanilla to my batter. I also topped with caramelized brown sugar & bananas. Then I sprinkled it with powdered sugar. This would probably also be good topped with blueberry pie filling :) My only complaint is the amount of butter used ... I will try to half it next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I liked this recipe but there is definitely too much butter for my taste. My family is SUPER picky and none of my 3 kids or my husband liked it. I may try to make again for company and use less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Smith Weiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Awesome awesome! I've used a couple other German pancake recipes on this site and was not getting the puffy results I wanted. This is the one that worked, and my entire family loved it! Since I love sweet, I added a tablespoon of honey. Instead of the lemon glaze, I used a yummy sauce that consisted of butter, brown sugar, cinnamon, and cream. Oh yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Dutch pancakes are so easy and the perfect breakfast for busy mornings. I love them served with fresh fruit and pure maple syrup. Half this recipe fits perfectly in a 7 inch cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Oh my gosh, delicious! I prepared as directed, divided the dough in half, and added cinnamon and sugar to half the batter. I put the two batters in two different 9 in cake rounds. When they were done, I put sausage and cheese in one and put it back in the oven with the broiler to melt the cheese. We added strawberries and powdered sugar to the other. Simply awesome! Great texture. Pretty easy! Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Turned out perfect! I put my 12" cast iron skillet in the oven when I turned on the oven, so the skillet would be good and hot. Key...eggs need to be at room temp. I warmed my milk then mixed in my room temp eggs. Mixed in the flour and salt. Let rest until oven was warmed. Pulled out cast iron skillet added butter to pan, let melt, then added batter, returned to oven,baked 15min. It was perfect! Don't open oven door it let's out the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States