Big Germans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I JUST served this for a 4th of July brunch. It was literally inhaled!!..lol If I could give this MORE then five stars I would! Talk about a "wowzer" for company! Also... beyond SUPER FAST -EASY yet a real show stopper when served!! Lots of OOOOO's...and Ahhhhh's...lol This is one of those unsung hero kind of recipes. It's a wonderful base just waiting to be filled with whatever fruits your hearts desire! I followed the recipe to the letter except for adding 1 t Mexican vanilla to the batter. I used real butter and a glass 13x9 dish. It was cooked to perfection in exactly 20 min, but I KNOW my oven is right on the mark for temps. I had mashed up fresh Strawberries yesterday, and reserved a few whole for the top. My company was HERE when it was pulled from the oven. As it started to fall I poured the strawberries over it... topped it with whipped cream, laid out a few sliced berries on top, sprinkled it with powdered sugar, and a hint of cinnamon. I put a small American flag right in the center. No kidding... it was absolutey gorgeous!!! Next time I'm going to make it in two smaller dishes, and one will be filled with sweetened stewed apples/sour cream mixed with whipped cream and powdered sugar/cinnamon. Other one will be served with the strawberry mixture. It looked like I had been working for HOURS and I'm not kidding you... it took less then 10 min to prepare this to pop into the oven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This variation is good. We've used a similar recipe in my family for years without the lemon and sugar. I usually make two - one with sausage, mushroom & cheese (sometimes green peppers) and a second with fruit pie filling (peach is our favorite.) If you melt the butter in the bottom of the pan before you add the ingredients it doesn't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
This was really good! Even my 2 year old enjoyed it. Like the other reviewers I did not use the lemon, my family doesn't like lemon flavorings. I did saute some bananas in a little butter and brown sugar and topped half the pancake with this mixture. The other half I dusted with powdered sugar an drizzled with maple syrup. Yum! Keep in mind the pancake itself is bland, much like a pancake and crepe, it tastes like a mixture of the two. I did add some vanilla extract to the batter as well. The most delicious parts are the golden brown edges that are slightly crisp from the butter. If you have never tried an oven pancake, this may not be for you, but if you love crepes you will enjoy this. Bonus is it is SOOOOO easy and looks beautiful coming out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Sehr gut! My family is very very German and we thought this would be an excellent venture for a morning breakfast. There was a problem with it sticking to the bottom of the pan, even with the butter, so I am thinking that a dark-nonstick pan would suffice instead of an aluminum one. Many layers, very fluffy and flavorful. Try adding a variety of extracts into it. I used almond this time, but you can try lemon, maple, vanilla or anything else that strikes your fancy. The pancake will bring out its flavor beutifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVIOLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
I make this recipe for may family at least once a month. For my husband and I, I divide the batter into two round cake pans and bake up 2 individual Germans. We also use much more lemon and powdered sugar, and less butter than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Hubby made this for me for breakfast because I love German Pancakes. These were very comparable...maybe even better considering they have a lot of "cool" factor. They looked like top hats when they puffed up! He poured it into 2 8" cake pans & we topped one w/ the typical lemon & powdered sugar & one w/ Strawberries in Wine (from this site ... I used white zin & I did add a bit of chopped mint to the recipe) & whipped cream. Hard to pick a favorite, they were both excellent. Served it on the patio w/ orange cream mimosas (from the foodnetwork site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
I have had this dish at a famous pancake place near my house and I love it. I tried this recipe and it even better!!!! I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter and it was delish!! My 4 year old even loved it. YOU MUST MAKE THIS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Not a big fan of this one. I have never had German pancakes, and I don't think I will make again. It was very dense and very eggy. It was also very bland (even with the syrup and fruit). I think I will stick to my regular breakfast pancake. Thanks anyway for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This is a fantastic recipe. One thing I did differently was to bake it in a round 9" cake pan. Our local Pancake House serves it like this and each pan is an individual order. I serve it with fresh lemon wedges and powdered sugar. When my son's friends spend the night they request this for breakfast every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
My husband is a diabetic so I make it a bit differently, but he LOVES this! I use WW flour & only 2 T butter. I added about 2 t lemon juice to the mixture & use skim milk. Skip the sugar. I microwaved a cut up apple with sugar free pancake syrup & my homemade pumpkin pie spice til soft. He loved that over this pancake. Said it was like a dessert. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Big Dipper Sandwich

See how to make a tender roast beef sandwich with dipping sauce.

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States