Big Germans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was quick and easy to throw together. It's surprising to see what it looks like when it comes out of the oven! I sprinkled powdered sugar and squeezed lemon on it. Nice and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Hubby loves this with strawberries and cream... it made the cut into my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I make these every once in a while. The first we tried it we didn't care for the lemon juice and sugar. The next time i made these we used homemade chokecherry jelly. WOW.oh WOW!!! The kids couldn't get enough. I use my cast iron skillet and it works great! Just writing this review makes me want to go make some for supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was pretty good - I think I could've left it in the oven for a few more minutes so next time I will... Tastes almost like French toast in a fun presentation. I tried it with the lemon juice and powdered sugar but ended up drizzling on some maple syrup too! Fun, easy breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Awesome been looking for this recipe forever. Great tasting but soooo filling. A must try in my books, so different than anything u would have for breakfas. I also suggest making one dividing it up and serving with fruit and whipped cream as a dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denyse24

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Aunt Svea was a wonderful Swedish cook. I followed her around the kitchen trying to write down her recipe for "Oven Pancakes." I thought her recipe was gone when she passed away, because she never measured. It was always "a pinch of this and a dash of that." BUT THIS IS AUNT SVEA'S RECIPE! To Jeanie Bean, submitting this recipe -- Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara N

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This is such a delicious, easy, and impressive dish to serve for breakfast! We have it at least once a week, and sometimes more! For a while, I was following the recipe exactly, but found that 1/2 the butter and a mix of 1/2 C AP flour and 1/2 C Whole Wheat flour tasted great, and made it a little more healthy. I am very liberal with the lemon juice, and garnish this with sliced oranges. My toddler simply calls this "pancake." He has no idea what actual pancakes are because we have them so rarely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Quick and easy! I didn't use the lemon juice but it was delicious topped with thawed, mixed berries and whipping cream. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Yum! I've made these twice already. These are really good for something different for breakfast on the weekends or for when you have breakfast for dinner. We used applesauce and cinnamon sugar as a topping. Mmm! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Well, what do you know, it's a German pancake! Lol. My family and I have been making this for years - we just called it a French pancake. Anyway, we always mix it up in a blender or food processor. We melt the butter in a cast iron skillet in the oven, then pour in the batter. We save the salt for last and sprinkle it on top of the batter before putting it in th e oven. It always bakes up with a nice tall, golden crust around the edge. We then sprinkle the top with a healthy (or perhaps unhealthy) dose of powdered sugar and a good sprinkle of nutmeg. Serve it up with syrup! My father is the only person I have met so far who didn't like it. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States