Big Germans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Aunt Svea was a wonderful Swedish cook. I followed her around the kitchen trying to write down her recipe for "Oven Pancakes." I thought her recipe was gone when she passed away, because she never measured. It was always "a pinch of this and a dash of that." BUT THIS IS AUNT SVEA'S RECIPE! To Jeanie Bean, submitting this recipe -- Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara N

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This is such a delicious, easy, and impressive dish to serve for breakfast! We have it at least once a week, and sometimes more! For a while, I was following the recipe exactly, but found that 1/2 the butter and a mix of 1/2 C AP flour and 1/2 C Whole Wheat flour tasted great, and made it a little more healthy. I am very liberal with the lemon juice, and garnish this with sliced oranges. My toddler simply calls this "pancake." He has no idea what actual pancakes are because we have them so rarely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Quick and easy! I didn't use the lemon juice but it was delicious topped with thawed, mixed berries and whipping cream. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Yum! I've made these twice already. These are really good for something different for breakfast on the weekends or for when you have breakfast for dinner. We used applesauce and cinnamon sugar as a topping. Mmm! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Well, what do you know, it's a German pancake! Lol. My family and I have been making this for years - we just called it a French pancake. Anyway, we always mix it up in a blender or food processor. We melt the butter in a cast iron skillet in the oven, then pour in the batter. We save the salt for last and sprinkle it on top of the batter before putting it in th e oven. It always bakes up with a nice tall, golden crust around the edge. We then sprinkle the top with a healthy (or perhaps unhealthy) dose of powdered sugar and a good sprinkle of nutmeg. Serve it up with syrup! My father is the only person I have met so far who didn't like it. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I thought this tasted great...a nice combination of salt and sweet...but neither my husband nor my kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Love it! I added the sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg cause we're snowed in and can't get whipped cream. It will be what we will be making when we have company at Christmas time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This ia a fantastic recipe. I used "Microwave Lemon Curd" and powdered sugar instead of the lemon juice. It makes my taste buds sing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Green Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Great tasting and super-easy breakfast. I used a 10 inch cast-iron skillet rather than a baking pan (as it is shown in the picture) and mine came out looking just as gorgeous and with a lovely brown crust on the bottom and sides. Instead of using lemon, I topped mine with a small can of Dutch Apple filling (I had been storing this impulse-purchase for some time, unsure what to do with it and THIS was the PERFECT solution!) and a dusting of powdered sugar. A lovely change from savory egg dishes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I've made this several times adding 1 teaspoon vanilla. Bake at temperature shown & don't overbake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Big Dipper Sandwich

See how to make a tender roast beef sandwich with dipping sauce.

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States