Big Germans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I just made this last night and it was so quick and easy and tasted wonderful! I didn't change the recipe at all as I love lemon but next time I'd love to try it with fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This was amazing served with 'Blueberry Sauce' from this site! This recipe is similar to a pancake in that you probably wouldn't just eat it plain. I will definitely make this next time we have breakfast guests. The only change I made was to sprinkle cinnamon on top along with the lemon and confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I'm giving this four stars for the flavor and how easy it is to prepare, but I can't give it five stars because it didn't rise! I followed the directions exactly, but the center stayed flat while the sides rose up a bit and started to turn brown. I'm pretty sure it's a cooking temp. issue so I'll be playing around with the oven to see if I can get it right, but man was it a bummer when I looked in the oven :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
These turned out great!!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by l. beighley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These pancakes are so close to my husbands grandmother who passed away. Not eggy at all. It's also similar as "Dutch Babies II" by babara_hengels, the only difference is the yield amount. So since it was just me and hubby eating, I halved the recipe (big germans that is) and used an 8x8 baking pan and cooked it for 10-13 minutes until slightly brown and crispy. I also drizzled it with lemon icing (AR recipe by Carol) which by the way was soooo good. And for those who had a problem with the sides browning first than the middle, try covering the sides with a foil and leave a 6x6 opening if using a 8x8 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I'd give this one a solid 4.5 stars (with the addition of 1 tbsp sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This recipe is PHENOMENAL!!! OH my goodness, this is light and delicious breakfast NIRVANA!!! I added a teaspoon of vanilla, warmed up the eggs for five minutes before I used them, whipped them up prior to pouring them in the mixer and I heated the milk for about 20 seconds. While the batter was mixing, the pan was in the oven with the butter melting. About few minutes later I took the pan out of the oven with the now melted butter, (sprayed the sides of the pan with a quick spray of Pam) poured the batter on top and that was that. 17 minutes later I had a fabulous, puffed up German pancake. I covered it in lemon and powdered sugar and it was PERFECT!! My husband was thrilled!!! He said it was better than The Pancake House! That is high praise in our house!! In regards to people saying this was bland...I found that using salted butter kept it from blandness. This is a really simple, delicious way to start a Saturday morning!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Campbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Was super easy to make but didn't quite work out. It started to puff just around the edges and then started to brown while the center was still flat as could be. I think I might have used too much butter or didn't let it cook long enough. Maybe it was because I used whole wheat flour. I'll try again with all purpose and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
My husband is a diabetic so I make it a bit differently, but he LOVES this! I use WW flour & only 2 T butter. I added about 2 t lemon juice to the mixture & use skim milk. Skip the sugar. I microwaved a cut up apple with sugar free pancake syrup & my homemade pumpkin pie spice til soft. He loved that over this pancake. Said it was like a dessert. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I tried this out minus the sugar and lemon juice. I also only use 3 eggs the second time, because I personally do not like eggs so it cuts down on the slightly eggy flavor. These are -very- easy to make, which is also good when you are cooking for kids! My daughter loves them just plain. It is true that they are bland, but that is the beauty of it. You can sweeten them as you go. I've also made some more savory version using a cup of shredded cheese, another big hit. They are very versatile. You can use all kinds of toppings depending on if you are going for sweet or savory. If you want to try something different for dessert, serve with a scoop of your favorite ice cream (we did cookies and cream). It is out of this world! You can also make them in smaller portions like mini pancakes, which I recommend. I'll be making them using whole wheat flour next. Great recipe! It gives me a lot to play around with in the kitchen. Certainly a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States