Big Germans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
WoW the whole family LOVED this. I love that I can sit down with the family to eat it with them unlike regular pancakes. I sliced up several different types of fruit to top it with. Thanks for the wonderful recipe, I have made this about 5 times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil'MadSavy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
this is amazing! super easy, and really takes 5 minutes to put everything together. We used a strawberry-pear topping with whipped cream, and I am excited to try out different toppings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This is really tasty, and easy to make to boot! I'm definitely going to be using this recipe regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I have probably made this 30-40 times. It comes out wonderful if you read and follow the instructions. We just came back from or Lakehouse and I gave the last copy away. So I had to look it up and print some more copies. This is one of the best receipes on this site. Sure you can play around with the toppings and probably make it better to suit your taste. I normally make a starwberry topping and put whipped cream on it. As far as it not raising you have to melt the butter in the pan and then add the mixture. I always use a glass pyrex 9x13 and have never had a problem. I would like to thank JEANIE BEAN for sharing this wonderful receipe. Maybe some people have to have their oven calibrated. I promise if you follow the receipe people will want you to share it with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOYSLAUGHTER
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My husband KNOWS HIS GERMAN PANCAKES... he says this is perfect and very similar to the one he always gets at the Walker Brothers in Arlington Heights, IL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYSLAUGHTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This was FANTASTIC!!!! The reward FAR exceeds the effort. So easy and so yummy. Added about a tablespoon of regular sugar to the batter. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I just made this last night and it was so quick and easy and tasted wonderful! I didn't change the recipe at all as I love lemon but next time I'd love to try it with fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This was amazing served with 'Blueberry Sauce' from this site! This recipe is similar to a pancake in that you probably wouldn't just eat it plain. I will definitely make this next time we have breakfast guests. The only change I made was to sprinkle cinnamon on top along with the lemon and confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I'm giving this four stars for the flavor and how easy it is to prepare, but I can't give it five stars because it didn't rise! I followed the directions exactly, but the center stayed flat while the sides rose up a bit and started to turn brown. I'm pretty sure it's a cooking temp. issue so I'll be playing around with the oven to see if I can get it right, but man was it a bummer when I looked in the oven :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
These turned out great!!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by l. beighley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Big Dipper Sandwich

See how to make a tender roast beef sandwich with dipping sauce.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States