Big Germans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
AWESOME!!! Doubled the recipe and put it into 3 pie plates and baked for 18 minutes. My boys scarfed them up with no lemon but powdered sugar, butter and syrup. Will make again for sure. P.S. I only had 7 eggs but it still was great, the germans were just a little thicker than normal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runtex2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This was great, and very easy to make. One thing; when the butter melted in my glass pan and I poured in the batter, i was so nervous because my batter was enveloped in melted butter. In the end, although most of the butter was soaked, i still had a lot of butter remaining on the top that i had to drain off. Overall, although not healthy, it's good and you have a lot of freedom with your toppings-- good treat for once in a while. I used a cinnamon sugar topping, and a peach topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
WoW the whole family LOVED this. I love that I can sit down with the family to eat it with them unlike regular pancakes. I sliced up several different types of fruit to top it with. Thanks for the wonderful recipe, I have made this about 5 times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil'MadSavy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
this is amazing! super easy, and really takes 5 minutes to put everything together. We used a strawberry-pear topping with whipped cream, and I am excited to try out different toppings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This is really tasty, and easy to make to boot! I'm definitely going to be using this recipe regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I have probably made this 30-40 times. It comes out wonderful if you read and follow the instructions. We just came back from or Lakehouse and I gave the last copy away. So I had to look it up and print some more copies. This is one of the best receipes on this site. Sure you can play around with the toppings and probably make it better to suit your taste. I normally make a starwberry topping and put whipped cream on it. As far as it not raising you have to melt the butter in the pan and then add the mixture. I always use a glass pyrex 9x13 and have never had a problem. I would like to thank JEANIE BEAN for sharing this wonderful receipe. Maybe some people have to have their oven calibrated. I promise if you follow the receipe people will want you to share it with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOYSLAUGHTER
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
My husband KNOWS HIS GERMAN PANCAKES... he says this is perfect and very similar to the one he always gets at the Walker Brothers in Arlington Heights, IL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYSLAUGHTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This was FANTASTIC!!!! The reward FAR exceeds the effort. So easy and so yummy. Added about a tablespoon of regular sugar to the batter. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I just made this last night and it was so quick and easy and tasted wonderful! I didn't change the recipe at all as I love lemon but next time I'd love to try it with fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This was amazing served with 'Blueberry Sauce' from this site! This recipe is similar to a pancake in that you probably wouldn't just eat it plain. I will definitely make this next time we have breakfast guests. The only change I made was to sprinkle cinnamon on top along with the lemon and confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States