Big Germans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was pretty good, but not as good as another recipe that I rated 5 stars. I actually made this three times over several weeks. I found that 18 minutes was about the right baking time for me. I made it exactly as written. I guess I found this too eggy for my taste, though. But I did like that I learned from this recipe that lemon juice and powdered sugar are some traditional toppings for this dish - it added something extra that the other recipe didn't have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
The pancakes were very tasty and tender inside but were dark on the outside. I think I made a mistake by using two 9" cake pans. I guess I should have known better. Please only use glass or prytex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I used 4 Tb. of butter and it was plenty. I baked it for 20 mins. in my cast iron skillet. Very impressive and delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was easy and fun to make. The sides of the "bowl" rose up so high in my oven, the tops were touching the coils. It's very entertaining to see. I sliced up strawberries to put in the "bowl", but I found just the lemon juice and powdered sugar added the perfect flavor. I will note that there was a shallow pool of butter in the bottom of my eggy pancake, which didn't bother me. I like buttery pastry, but I wanted to mention it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Rakic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
My family has been making this for years and with the lemon and powdered sugar. Everyone loves it. We have found that they cook best in a buttered glass pie pan and each person gets their own plate size pancake....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
My kids loved this version, especially with the lemon juice and sugar. I did the recipe x 1.5 and used a 9x13 pyrex and an 8x8 pyrex. They fit well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This recipe is perfect! We live at 7600 feet and the puff still works. I believe the key is to use an iron pan, mix the eggs and milk first, then sift in the flour. We used to have to drive an hour to a breakfast place that made these, but now we just wait till Sunday and make them.... much better than the restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Excellent recipe, much like the one that my Mom used to make. I made two batches, one like the original here (with a tsp. of added vanilla extract and one additional egg) and the second with 12 cut up sausage links, whole chopped green pepper, 1/4 chopped onion, and a small can of olives. Once out of the oven, served the "loaded" one with option of salsa and sliced jalapenos as a topping. I would recommend adding diced tomatoes to the mix as well as cheese as an additional topping option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by divedaddy03

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was really easy to make and the lemon and powdered sugar made it amazing. My husband said it almost taste like french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I liked it... it reminds me of a mixture between a pancake and french toast.. the lemon juice and powdered sugar on top gave it a nice sour contrast... very good... will make again.. and possible divide the batter between two round pans.... good recipes I am glad i tried them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States