Big Germans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Excellent recipe, much like the one that my Mom used to make. I made two batches, one like the original here (with a tsp. of added vanilla extract and one additional egg) and the second with 12 cut up sausage links, whole chopped green pepper, 1/4 chopped onion, and a small can of olives. Once out of the oven, served the "loaded" one with option of salsa and sliced jalapenos as a topping. I would recommend adding diced tomatoes to the mix as well as cheese as an additional topping option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by divedaddy03

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was really easy to make and the lemon and powdered sugar made it amazing. My husband said it almost taste like french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I liked it... it reminds me of a mixture between a pancake and french toast.. the lemon juice and powdered sugar on top gave it a nice sour contrast... very good... will make again.. and possible divide the batter between two round pans.... good recipes I am glad i tried them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Good Pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I have given this recipe many attempts, always convinced I am doing something wrong as I have read so many good reviews on this site and others. I find it to be dense and egg-y, more like a heavy crepe than a pancake. Maybe that's what a German pancake is but this failed in my attempt to find a Weekend Family favorite. My kids wouldn't finish it even with powdered sugar or syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I've been making this for years. In fact, I have a printed recipe from here from 2000 that had to be scaled down to use 6 eggs. The directions are exactly the same wording but the ingredients are not the same. Interesting but still a fabulous breakfast treat. We always eat it with maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This was decent. It wasn't our favorite oven pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Good, but way too much butter. Next tiime I would use a lot less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
AWESOME!!! Doubled the recipe and put it into 3 pie plates and baked for 18 minutes. My boys scarfed them up with no lemon but powdered sugar, butter and syrup. Will make again for sure. P.S. I only had 7 eggs but it still was great, the germans were just a little thicker than normal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runtex2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This was great, and very easy to make. One thing; when the butter melted in my glass pan and I poured in the batter, i was so nervous because my batter was enveloped in melted butter. In the end, although most of the butter was soaked, i still had a lot of butter remaining on the top that i had to drain off. Overall, although not healthy, it's good and you have a lot of freedom with your toppings-- good treat for once in a while. I used a cinnamon sugar topping, and a peach topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Big Dipper Sandwich

See how to make a tender roast beef sandwich with dipping sauce.

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States