Big Germans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I worked at a resturant in Denver when I was younger that had these. I just started making them at home a few weeks ago and we can't get enough. There are a few different textures going on. It's really cool how they climb up the sides of the pan but, must be served right away because they start to collapse as soon as they are removed from the oven. Great for guests. They will be immpressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shifter33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cameron Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
doubled-recipe as written and used 2 9x13 pans. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CalgaryJosie
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Made sure eggs and milk were at room temperature and this turned out great! Kinda like Yorkshire pudding for breakfast, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was awesome! I couldn't stop picking at the leftovers. Perfect easy weekend morning dish. I topped it with some blueberries and strawberries and finished it off with some real maple syrup. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYMAXPIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Delicious and so easy to make. The hardest part of this was the waiting time while it baked. I used a 9 inch deep dish pie plate and it worked great. My favorite part of this was the browned fluffy edges but the thick dense solid custard looking center where the pool of butter was sitting was great too. I like this with the lemon juice and added even more after tasting it. I didn't have plain milk so I used canned condensed milk. I never really cared much for this dish in the past, but this time I really liked this so Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This is a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
These were awesome and so easy! I also didn't use the lemon juice and I had it with fresh strawberries. This will definitely be on our favorites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was pretty good, but not as good as another recipe that I rated 5 stars. I actually made this three times over several weeks. I found that 18 minutes was about the right baking time for me. I made it exactly as written. I guess I found this too eggy for my taste, though. But I did like that I learned from this recipe that lemon juice and powdered sugar are some traditional toppings for this dish - it added something extra that the other recipe didn't have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
The pancakes were very tasty and tender inside but were dark on the outside. I think I made a mistake by using two 9" cake pans. I guess I should have known better. Please only use glass or prytex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I used 4 Tb. of butter and it was plenty. I baked it for 20 mins. in my cast iron skillet. Very impressive and delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States