Big Germans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Mrs. liked this. I felt it was ok. A tad too much butter perhaps. I used unsalted in this recipe. Will make it again since she seemed to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I just took it out of the oven and it was delicious! I did add 1 teaspoon vanilla and served it with real maple syrup instead of the lemon, its divine! I used only real butter and added the butter to a cast iron skillet and put it the oven during the pre heat, the butter melted and browned before I added the batter... The Dutch Baby Pancake rose beautifully and did not stick to the skillet. This recipe will be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This has been my family's go to oven pancake for just over ten years! My husband is German, and this is his favorite! We sometimes fill the center with fresh berries and whip cream, but our favorite is the lemon juice and powdered sugar. We often double it and place it on a large baking sheet if we're having guests. Perfect for a before school breakfast for kids because it is so quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I used a cast iron pan (following what others put in the reviews) but that was a bad idea the sides were getting too done while the center wasn't, next time I will use a 9x13 like the recipe states. I had to cut off the sides and bake longer for the middle to get done would work in a cast iron pan if use a pyrex pie pan along with it so it cooks all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Easy, quick recipe. Don't forget the butter in the pan! The first time I made this I couldn't get it out of the pan and I think this was the problem. Every time I've made it sense it's been perfect. I like to add a little vanilla and sprinkle some cinnamon on top, but it is a good recipe on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
loved it! I did add 2 Tbs sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla in place of the lemon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I worked at a resturant in Denver when I was younger that had these. I just started making them at home a few weeks ago and we can't get enough. There are a few different textures going on. It's really cool how they climb up the sides of the pan but, must be served right away because they start to collapse as soon as they are removed from the oven. Great for guests. They will be immpressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shifter33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cameron Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
doubled-recipe as written and used 2 9x13 pans. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CalgaryJosie
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Made sure eggs and milk were at room temperature and this turned out great! Kinda like Yorkshire pudding for breakfast, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was awesome! I couldn't stop picking at the leftovers. Perfect easy weekend morning dish. I topped it with some blueberries and strawberries and finished it off with some real maple syrup. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYMAXPIT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Big Dipper Sandwich

See how to make a tender roast beef sandwich with dipping sauce.

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States