Big Germans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Turned out perfect! I put my 12" cast iron skillet in the oven when I turned on the oven, so the skillet would be good and hot. Key...eggs need to be at room temp. I warmed my milk then mixed in my room temp eggs. Mixed in the flour and salt. Let rest until oven was warmed. Pulled out cast iron skillet added butter to pan, let melt, then added batter, returned to oven,baked 15min. It was perfect! Don't open oven door it let's out the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Freaking AMAZING! These are the best, yet easiest, breakfast to make for house guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made this for breakfast it was good. Super easy and quick! I added some cinnamon too! So delicious will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I preheated my oven to 400f with a large cast iron skillet in it while it was heating, made my mixture and then added the butter and to the skillet and bake for 35 mins. It turned out much lighter and not so eggy, also added 1/2tsp vanilla extract to boost flavor and aroma, absolutely delicious! Thank you very much for the recipe, very happy man!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Really fun to make, sprinkle with powdered sugar, and place it in the middle of the table for everyone to grab a piece of. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Mrs. liked this. I felt it was ok. A tad too much butter perhaps. I used unsalted in this recipe. Will make it again since she seemed to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I just took it out of the oven and it was delicious! I did add 1 teaspoon vanilla and served it with real maple syrup instead of the lemon, its divine! I used only real butter and added the butter to a cast iron skillet and put it the oven during the pre heat, the butter melted and browned before I added the batter... The Dutch Baby Pancake rose beautifully and did not stick to the skillet. This recipe will be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This has been my family's go to oven pancake for just over ten years! My husband is German, and this is his favorite! We sometimes fill the center with fresh berries and whip cream, but our favorite is the lemon juice and powdered sugar. We often double it and place it on a large baking sheet if we're having guests. Perfect for a before school breakfast for kids because it is so quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I used a cast iron pan (following what others put in the reviews) but that was a bad idea the sides were getting too done while the center wasn't, next time I will use a 9x13 like the recipe states. I had to cut off the sides and bake longer for the middle to get done would work in a cast iron pan if use a pyrex pie pan along with it so it cooks all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Easy, quick recipe. Don't forget the butter in the pan! The first time I made this I couldn't get it out of the pan and I think this was the problem. Every time I've made it sense it's been perfect. I like to add a little vanilla and sprinkle some cinnamon on top, but it is a good recipe on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

JP's Big Daddy Biscuits

See the trick to making huge fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States