Big Game Day Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This took me almost an hour and a half to put together but the payoff was excellent. I made only a few small changes and that's to use what I had on hand. I added one extra bell pepper, I used lean ground beef and I used only one half of a can of the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. I also added at least quadruple the amount of chili powder and oregano, I didn't use a whole tablespoon of black pepper (I just added it when needed, like when I was browning the meat and sauteing the vegetables) and I added two heaping teaspoons of cumin. This absolutely filled my largest soup pot to the brim so I split into two large crockpots to have it cook evenly and to save on power. After an hour, it's awesome. It has a serious bite to it from the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, I'm really glad I asked for advice before I threw in the whole can. (And it was a small can, too!) I will recommend that you puree your chipotle peppers in with some of the tomato sauce so you get an even consistancy and don't have chunks of hot. Killer chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I cut the recipe in half and actually forgot the bacon because I was going to add real bacon bits toward the end (had on hand), used half the onion and chipotle peppers and doubled the garlic per family requests and would of simmered longer than 1 hour but no one could wait, the aroma was filling the air. Loved the thick stew like texture, it was wonderful, a great change from my typical chili with ground beef. A keeper, will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Reports are this is the best recipe we've had. I had spicy Italian sausage so 1/2 the chipotle peppers, and still had plenty of kick. Ate it with a dark beer. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is such good chili! Took a big bowl to a friend's and expected to take some home. Nope! It was all gone! (Thank goodness I left a bowl at home for us!) Awesome flavor! Makes a HUGE pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Awesome! Even 3 picky teenage boys liked it. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Family of 7 enjoyed this meal. Didnt put cayenne pepper in , and just used ground beef and bacon, semi sweet chocolate chips and half a bottle of bud lite. otherwise the same.. im not much for spicy , but it coulda been a lil spicier and a lil sweeter. will make this recipe much more in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
A delicious chili! It is soooooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Califon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Love this, love this, love this! I used Young's Double Chocolate Stout and only half of the chipotle peppers (as I was cooking for someone with chronic indigestion) and it turned out SPECTACULAR! Served with Pinot Noir and Hawaiian Sweet Bread. Rave reviews. SIDE NOTE: There are so many ingredients, if you feel like unleashing your inner Emeril, you get to yell "BAM!" a lot. Loads of fun...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made this chili the other day for the Packer game! Had about 10 people over and everyone loved it! This is a fantastic recipe with all the ingredients melding together for a wonderful taste! Loved the chocolate flavor as well it really added a nice touch. I recommend this chili for any game day experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States