Big Game Day Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I usually try a recipe one time by the book and then play around with it afterwards. I made this chili for the first time tonight and would not change a thing. Excellent chili...and I did it having some trepidation about the recipe. It takes a long time to prep. The 45 minutes advertised seems short but maybe I'm just slow. But the chili itself is very, very good. The only thing I might try next time is to cook the bacon first so that it's not as chewy. Or perhaps browning the meats first, draining the fat, and then mixing in the veggies. One reviewer suggested blending the canned chipotle pepper in advance. I did that with some of the beef broth and I second her recommendation. I was surprised at how hot the chili came out. Some reviewers suggest halving the chipotle peppers and you may want to do that if you do not like your chili spicy. I do prefer the heat and, with the (7 oz) whole can, it came out just right for me. You can always make it hotter later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Hess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Excellent recipe. I made an adjustment and only used the can of cream corn instead of 1/2 a can of normal corn and 1/2 a can of creamed corn. The consistency was exactly what I was looking for. Creamy and pudding like! Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Angus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I cut the recipe in half and actually forgot the bacon because I was going to add real bacon bits toward the end (had on hand), used half the onion and chipotle peppers and doubled the garlic per family requests and would of simmered longer than 1 hour but no one could wait, the aroma was filling the air. Loved the thick stew like texture, it was wonderful, a great change from my typical chili with ground beef. A keeper, will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I tried this yesterday. It was good, but I made a big mistake. I adjusted the recipe for 8 servings so I should have used 1/2 can of chipotle peppers, but I used the entire can. Man, was it spicy!!! I like spicy but this was just a little too much heat for me! The next time I make it I will use a lighter beer (dark stout was too much) less oregano and more chili powder and of course, 1/2 can of chipotle peppers. :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is such good chili! Took a big bowl to a friend's and expected to take some home. Nope! It was all gone! (Thank goodness I left a bowl at home for us!) Awesome flavor! Makes a HUGE pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
The biggest drawback was that the stew meat was tough - I dug it all out before serving and put it in the food processor. Omitted the beer (made it for an AA event) and added two tablespoons of molasses. Great flavor. Makes enough to feed a crowd or save some in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
i am making this chili as i type this (its simmering away) .. all in all it seems like a good dish (i took a taste at the begining and it seemed like a good START) but it definatly needed wayyy wayyy wayyy more chili powder and definatly needed to add cumin (which wasnt in the recipe) without added it is tasted like a meat stew, not chili.. plus i added a can of diced tomatoes (drained) for more texture and tomatoe flavor.. the chocolate is a great touch!! i will write another review after its finished and after i add more of my 'touchs' to it :)) but this is definatly a great STARTER dish by its self, but DEFINATLY needs more ump in it and more spices!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
really not impressed with this at all... cost a small fortune to make and just not as good as the old recipe with ground beef, beans, and canned tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Reports are this is the best recipe we've had. I had spicy Italian sausage so 1/2 the chipotle peppers, and still had plenty of kick. Ate it with a dark beer. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States