Big E's BBQ Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
My husband and oldest boy made this rub together for our big barbeque day. They followed the recipe exactly only they doubled the recipe AND they did not use white pepper only because I don't have it in the spice cabinet. They rubbed this on boneless pork short ribs, chicken legs and BLSL chicken breasts. It looked and smelled fantastic--the one issue that we had was it was REALLY spicy. Like overkill spicy. We all thought the flavor of the rub was right where it should be but the hot overpowered everything else. My husband said that we'd try this again but cut WAY back on the red pepper flake and maybe the black pepper. We all thought that this made the nicest crust on the meat and looked beautiful right off the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
You definitely need to marinate your meat a few hours or more to get the full effect of this wonderful rub. I added a bit more garlic powder and regular mustard since I didn't have ground and it still came out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I took out the red pepper flakes, Old Bay, and white pepper. I think I also added a little more brown sugar. It was an awesome rub. I used this on a pork tenderloin and baked it in my toaster oven. Got a great crust. Tasted like more work than it was. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was a great rub. I had some pork butt bone in ribs that I left the rub on all day. I did use a little less salt because of another review made. Probably about 1/2 tbsp. I also then put a little Sweet Baby Rays BBQ Sauce on the ribs. I had to do the ribs in the oven because of Erie PA weather. I cooked them on 250 degrees for 3 hrs, took them out and then put the BBQ sauce on them for at least 30 minutes. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Murphy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Awesome! I just finished serving a smoked brisket using this rub (minus the sugar, of course), and it was a hit! Thanks for the recipe, I'll definitely be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
We didn't really care for this. I think it was the old bay...an odd spice for bbq if you ask me. Not terrible by any means, it just wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Hey Big E, i'm comin over for some bbq right now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Really good....omitted the white pepper and white sugar....used on Bacon Wrapped Barbeque Shrimp from this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was a very tasty. I used it on salmon and chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I used this on my baby back ribs, and it was very tangy and spicy. Huge hit with the family.. I will be making again this summer! (The only ingredient I didn't have is the white pepper)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

BBQ Chicken Wings

See how to make sweet and tangy, Asian-inspired BBQ chicken wings.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States