Big Ed's Cajun Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
very good recipe...recommend anyone to try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
I would give this soup 6 stars if I could. It's very easy to make with common ingredients and is about as tasty as a soup can be. I made two substitutions with items I had on hand: Used a 28 oz. can (3 1/2 cups)of diced tomatoes in place of the 3 cups of vegetable juice to make a thicker consistency (left out the 1/2 cup of water). Also substituted Tarragon when I discovered I was out of Thyme. What a great and interesting flavor! I love that this is a very low fat soup, too. Good job, Eddie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
I prepared this recipe while I was working behind a bar and served it at happy hour. I doubled the recipe but added a pound of scallops instead of extra scrimp. It was a big hit. Mostly men in the bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
Quick, easy and delicious. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
This was great! I used the substitutions from others and it was a hit! Instead of veg juice, I used tomatoes, and I doubled the recipe using both scallops and shrimp. Everyone loved it, thanks Ed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
This soup was awesome!!!! My husband and I both loved it. It has a nice little kick to it. Definitely a keeper for this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
I made this last weekend when we had friends over, it went over quite well with everyone. I took the advice of other reviewers and doubled it, added canned diced tomatoes and added some large scallops. Since we live in Japan good seafood is easy to find and I am always looking for great recipes like this one! Thanks "Big Ed"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Soooo yummy. I also doubled the recipe. Living in Tokyo, I couldn't find clam juice in the supermarket, so I improvised. I bought big prawns with heads attached. I took the heads off the prawns and boiled them till the water turned an orange color (from the row). I then strained it to collect the soup, which is very flavorful because of the the prawn row in it. I used this instead of water and clam juice. I also added scallops and clams, so it ended up being a very hearty soup loaded with seafood. Served to friends at lunch and everybody got seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This soup was a big hit....thanks Big Ed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Very good, but I just felt it was missing a little something. I used the crushed tomatoes instead of the juice and water, and I added corn and string beans. I might add just one more vegetable next time to make it heartier. But, overall it was good - a nice alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States