Big Ed's Cajun Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Amy W
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Delicious! I followed the recipe best I could. Had a can of chopped clams instead of clam juice - but most everything else was exactly in the recipe. Mine came out thicker than the lead photo - but I like it like that! I will make this again - and try to add some more veggies to get it even healthier. I only wish I had doubled it to get even more leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Make soup base day before. Use prawns with heads. Needs hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
it was ok, able to eat it but had tart taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wheatley, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Excellent recipe!! Didn't change a thing and my family devoured it. The only thing I would do differently next time is too double the recipe so we have left overs! thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCal*Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Really delicious. Did not add salt, clam juice and veggie juice has enough. Served with cornbread muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I did make an addition. I added okra and more rice. But this soup is very good and simple. Thanks Big Ed..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made this as directed except for 2 things. I added a can of lump crab meat, which was excellent! Also, I went to my pantry to add the rice, and found out I didn't have any. I already had the soup going, so I ended up substituting the rice with orzo. Turned out just fine and my husband was happy because he doesn't like rice very much. To me, this soup tastes a lot like jambalaya. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
We love this soup! We use broth instead of water, add a couple of stalks of celery and onion instead of green onion, and add a can or two of clams in their juices instead of the clam juice. You can make it as spicy as you want and as liquidy (or not) as you want. Absolutely delicious-and healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I made this soup last night because I'd forgotten to take something out of the freezer for dinner. I had a bag of shrimp that I easily defrosted in some cool water and so I was set to go as I had all the other ingredients in the pantry/fridge! I added some smokies (any smoked sausage would work) to give it the smoky flavour I think Cajun food needs. I also used the single serving sized V8 juice cans and put in three to stretch the meal. I think the idea of some celery is a good one and will put some in the next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I think this recipe is a great base, but lacking as written. Where are the veggies? I added a bunch of okra and corn, and that filled it out niceley. I also did 1/2 chicken broth and 1/2 v8. Will make again with my mods. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States