Big Ed's Cajun Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Yes. I love it! Substituted diced tomatoes for the juice & brown rice for the white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I am a true Cajun and this recipe is fast, simple, and very good.I will be bringing this to our next family get together and it will be on my menu at least a couple times a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I've never really had a lot of shrimp soups, but this was amazing. I also added 3 stalks of chopped celery and half a red bell to compliment the half of green bell. I love shrimp, so I put in almost 2Lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This was excellent and will be made again. I made a few modes based on personal preference and other suggestions. I left out the bell pepper (pers pref), use low sodium V8, and added a 10 oz can baby clams and 8 oz can oysters. I would leave the oysters out next time as I didn't think their texture worked great, but otherwise I followed recipe as is and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This is always a favorite at our house. There is never any left. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Delicious! I was a little nervous about adding any hot sauce because I don't tolerate very hot things well, but after trying it before and after the hot sauce, I would say it is a must flavor-wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Awesome soup...almost like a gumbo. Add grilled turkey kielbasa sliced. It really adds a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Diggity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
So good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
very good. I added a can of minced clams . It thickened quite a bit after I added rice so I added some chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Whoa! This soup is incredible! Well, to be fair, I made a few modifications, but bear with me. I too did the tomato juice and chicken broth thing. I also added three sticks of diced celery and some white onion. Instead of shrimp, I used a bag of frozen langostino from Trader Joes, and added in some frozen sliced okra, (it helps to thicken things up, too!) about 8 ounces worth. I also added about a teaspoon of chili paste, a tablespoon of worcestershire sauce, and 1 tablespoon of cajun seasoning. I can NOT believe how great this tastes! I'm so sad that I have no one to share it with, as M has a picky palate (strictly a "meat and potatoes" kind of guy). Oh well, more for me!! This will be in my regular rotation once the cold Chicago winter begins. Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States