Big B's Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
My husband makes these for me on Sunday. I was never a greens fan in the past, but I can't get enough of these. The broth is beautiful delicious... and is it Sunday yet?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Simply awesome...worked out great the very first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alethia
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I changed the ham hocks and replaced them with smoked turkey legs!!! Amazing outcome!!! Loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I thought the broth would be a little more flavorful, but this recipe was solid all the way through. My wife liked it which was a big surprise to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I made this recipe for our family Thanksgiving last year - my first time making it for family (talk about pressure)!!! They turned out absolutely wonderful. I even had my brother in law request I make him a pot all for himself :-). The only changes I made were adding a couple of tsps of baking soda for tenderness and not pulling the meat from the ham hocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Perfect collards
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Great recipe... I also added polk greens and spinach... plus a teaspoon of veg oil to the pot... wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I loved this recipe. I never have ham hocks but have tried it with chunks of a leftover baked ham or chunks of raw bacon cut up to simmer in the broth and just keep it in there to cook up with the greens. It worked great. I leave out the red pepper flakes. Wish I could leave them in but I have one kid who hates even black pepper. They are still very tasty without the red pepper. I make them one night a week now & everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Perfect! This got my son to eat his greens! FYI, I used a 2 pound bag of chopped fresh collards and used the same amount of seasonings except for the chili flakes, of which I reduced to a scant teaspoon. It had a pleasant but not hot kick. Thanks Big B!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Wonderful, the best! Thank you! When I have the time this is how I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States