Big B's Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I'm rating this 5 stars, although I admit I made some adjustments, but this seemed like the closest recipe I found to my favorite restaurant's version of collard greens. They turned out great, and I didn't have more than 3 hours to cook 'em! I plan on letting them go longer when I reheat. My biggest alteration in the recipe was adding 4 Tablespoons of sugar for a big pot of greens. Perhaps it's not authentic- I don't know since I didn't grow up on collards- but it brought out a nice flavor. I added a bit more than 4 Tablespoons of regular white vinegar (not fond of the apple cider type), because I like the bite, and only added one ham hock because I'm not accustomed to cooking with them and I was afraid that they might overpower the dish. Only used 3 cloves of garlic b/c they were huge, and ground red pepper because that's what I had on hand. I had a bunch of collards from my CSA farm share. It was 6 enormous leaves, just in case anybody's wondering what a "bunch" is. This made a really big pot- maybe 2 quarts' worth or so. Can't wait to see how they taste tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Your recipe made the best greens I've ever had!!! I have made them 3x already. 2x I used smoked neckbones and the other time I used smoked turkey wings instead of the ham hocks. I also used LAWRY's season salt where the recipe called for salt. My 11 year old who usually hates collard greens LOVES this recipe and calls them MG's, which is short for magic greens. She named them that because they are magically delicious LOL. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I can't wait to show it off at my next family function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Excellent! My born-and-raised-in-the-South husband said these were some of the best greens he's ever had. I did put in extra ham hocks, but otherwise followed the recipe. As another reviewer mentioned, these do have a little more kick than usual. Thanks, Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
THIS RECIPE IS PERFECTION!!!! I have been making greens for years. I grew up on "bitter greens" as we kids called them - turnip and mustard greens with turnips in them, with no smoked meat (that's how my dad liked them - he hated collards). As a kid, i couldn't wait until Thanksgiving at my grandma's house, because she made "sweet greens" - collards with smoked meat. Growing up, I only learned how to make the bitter greens, and was left helpless when I married a man who hated turnips and mustards. I searched and tried many a collard green recipe, playing with seasonings, bacon, salt pork, ham hocks....and then BIG B'S COLLARD GREENS recipe crossed my path. THIS IS AN ABSOLUTELY PERFECT RECIPE I don't know how long Big B worked on getting the perfect mix of seasonings in perfect proportions to make such a luscious recipe. But thank you! I must admist I substituted turkey tails for the ham hocks, only because we cut back on eating pork. TOO DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
didn't like the spice... also missing baking soda for tenderness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aWe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
FANTASTIC! I have never attempted collard greens before, these turned out great. Easy to make, house smelled delicious all day long. I cooked a meal for people that were very familiar with southern/soul food and everyone said they were scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zerogrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Delicious! The only change I made was I did not pull the meat from the ham hocks as I used 4 small ones and they did not have enough meat to make it worth my time. Instead I let them season up the broth and pulled them out. Then I cooked some bacon, chopped it up, and sprinkled it on top of the greens when I served them. I love the heat from the red pepper flakes, they add depth that other recipes don't offer. I made some corn muffins to serve along with the greens as well. These are so good, I will be making greens a lot more now. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Thank you so much for posting!!!! This was my first attempt at collards & they turned out great. My husband and I both loved the flavor & bit of spicyness. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I used a full 2 lb. bag of greens from Walmart for this dish and cooked the greens for 2 hrs. I reduced red pepper flakes to 1 teaspoon, and I'm REALLY glad I did, because it would have been WAY too hot for us if I hadn't. If you add the full tablespoon and hot pepper sauce, I hope you like really spicey/hot food, cause that is what you're going to get. I added a few tablespoons of sugar because my greens were really bitter and the sugar helped with that. These were delicious, and next time I'm going to try it with smoked turkey instead of the ham hocks. Thanks Big B!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Wow! This recipe is easy and the taste is absolute Heaven! Thank you very much Brian W for an excellent recipe that is now a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States