Big B's Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Perfect collards
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Great recipe... I also added polk greens and spinach... plus a teaspoon of veg oil to the pot... wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I loved this recipe. I never have ham hocks but have tried it with chunks of a leftover baked ham or chunks of raw bacon cut up to simmer in the broth and just keep it in there to cook up with the greens. It worked great. I leave out the red pepper flakes. Wish I could leave them in but I have one kid who hates even black pepper. They are still very tasty without the red pepper. I make them one night a week now & everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Perfect! This got my son to eat his greens! FYI, I used a 2 pound bag of chopped fresh collards and used the same amount of seasonings except for the chili flakes, of which I reduced to a scant teaspoon. It had a pleasant but not hot kick. Thanks Big B!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Wonderful, the best! Thank you! When I have the time this is how I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and had a house full of people who had never eaten collard greens. I made a few alterations but mostly stuck to the recipe. It was a huge hit. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This recipe was SOOO good!! One thing I suggest would be to reduce the red pepper flakes boy oh boy is it hot!! Had to add some sugar for my husband to cool down the heat! All in All BEST recipe, it was SOOOOO good and I ate my weight in greens this evening!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Delish, and this is coming from a southern girl. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made these greens for my Christmas dinner no need to serve with hot sauce it will sit on the table no one used it. I didn't follow the recipe exactly I didn't use garlic or vinegar and I used beef broth and seasoned everything by looks like my grandmother did and it was super spicy but amazing. I alsocut and soaked my greens the day before with a chopped onion in the water. They were tender spicy and every bite was a joy. Hope you love it as much as we did. It's mandatory for New Years and my Deployed husband wants me to have a plate with me when I pick him up at the airport.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sls459
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This is delicious. I must admit that I doubled the collard greens and the chicken stock though, and I added everything to the pot at once and cooked for about 3 1/2 hours. This is a definite keeper. Oh, and I used sliced pork side meat as my grocery store was out of ham hocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States