Big B's Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Let me first state that I'm not a big fan of bitter collard greens. With most recipes, I taste the result then add sugar and raspberry vinegar. With this recipe, I was amazed. I used chicken bouillon cubes and water for the chicken stock and continued the recipe as is. It had just the right amount of salt and bitterness that I didn't even want to sweeten it. Very good recipe and will make again when I'm craving unsweetened collard greens. Served with Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken and Dad's Pan-Fried Green Beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was the first time I made greens and I used this recipe. My wife praised my greens as she slurped up another fork full. I substituted turkey wings and I can say that this is the best pot of greens I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loupo
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
The best. Brings me back to Sunday feasts while I was stationed at Fort Campbell. The only changes I made were to use only 1 ham hock and 3 smoked pork neck bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
First time making collard greens. They were outstanding my husband couldn't get enough! Say good bye to the canned stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Wow! This recipe is easy and the taste is absolute Heaven! Thank you very much Brian W for an excellent recipe that is now a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Delicious! The only change I made was I did not pull the meat from the ham hocks as I used 4 small ones and they did not have enough meat to make it worth my time. Instead I let them season up the broth and pulled them out. Then I cooked some bacon, chopped it up, and sprinkled it on top of the greens when I served them. I love the heat from the red pepper flakes, they add depth that other recipes don't offer. I made some corn muffins to serve along with the greens as well. These are so good, I will be making greens a lot more now. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
FANTASTIC! I have never attempted collard greens before, these turned out great. Easy to make, house smelled delicious all day long. I cooked a meal for people that were very familiar with southern/soul food and everyone said they were scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zerogrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Thank you so much for posting!!!! This was my first attempt at collards & they turned out great. My husband and I both loved the flavor & bit of spicyness. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
These greens are the best ever!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
These are the best greens ever! The only thing we used different was rice vinegar. We also used 2 lbs. of pepared collard greens because it made it a little easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy bar

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States