Big B's Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
FANTASTIC! I have never attempted collard greens before, these turned out great. Easy to make, house smelled delicious all day long. I cooked a meal for people that were very familiar with southern/soul food and everyone said they were scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zerogrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Delicious! The only change I made was I did not pull the meat from the ham hocks as I used 4 small ones and they did not have enough meat to make it worth my time. Instead I let them season up the broth and pulled them out. Then I cooked some bacon, chopped it up, and sprinkled it on top of the greens when I served them. I love the heat from the red pepper flakes, they add depth that other recipes don't offer. I made some corn muffins to serve along with the greens as well. These are so good, I will be making greens a lot more now. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Wow! This recipe is easy and the taste is absolute Heaven! Thank you very much Brian W for an excellent recipe that is now a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
First time making collard greens. They were outstanding my husband couldn't get enough! Say good bye to the canned stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
The best. Brings me back to Sunday feasts while I was stationed at Fort Campbell. The only changes I made were to use only 1 ham hock and 3 smoked pork neck bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was the first time I made greens and I used this recipe. My wife praised my greens as she slurped up another fork full. I substituted turkey wings and I can say that this is the best pot of greens I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loupo
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
didn't like the spice... also missing baking soda for tenderness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aWe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Excellent! My born-and-raised-in-the-South husband said these were some of the best greens he's ever had. I did put in extra ham hocks, but otherwise followed the recipe. As another reviewer mentioned, these do have a little more kick than usual. Thanks, Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I tried this recipe and worked out very well!! Neck bones or ham hocks...regardless, make sure you take the meat off the bones like it says. My husband thought this was very delicious!:) Very nice way to cook collards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I'm rating this 5 stars, although I admit I made some adjustments, but this seemed like the closest recipe I found to my favorite restaurant's version of collard greens. They turned out great, and I didn't have more than 3 hours to cook 'em! I plan on letting them go longer when I reheat. My biggest alteration in the recipe was adding 4 Tablespoons of sugar for a big pot of greens. Perhaps it's not authentic- I don't know since I didn't grow up on collards- but it brought out a nice flavor. I added a bit more than 4 Tablespoons of regular white vinegar (not fond of the apple cider type), because I like the bite, and only added one ham hock because I'm not accustomed to cooking with them and I was afraid that they might overpower the dish. Only used 3 cloves of garlic b/c they were huge, and ground red pepper because that's what I had on hand. I had a bunch of collards from my CSA farm share. It was 6 enormous leaves, just in case anybody's wondering what a "bunch" is. This made a really big pot- maybe 2 quarts' worth or so. Can't wait to see how they taste tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States