Big Ben's Beef Machaca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I made this for Recipe Group. First I browned my chuck roast pieces in a little of the oil and deglazed the pan with the tomatoes and their juice. I was not at all sure why the oil was necessary, but used about half of it anyway. I skipped using the high setting on my slow cooker and instead cooked this for 7 hours on low. The meat was tender, flaked easily and was still very moist. Our plans changed for that evening, so before shredding it, I placed it in the refrigerator until the next day. When I took it out to shred, I saw that a lot of fat had risen to the top and congealed, so I removed as much of it as I could. I didn’t return the shredded meat to the slow cooker because there was so much liquid remaining with the vegetables that I would have ended up with stew. I drained as much liquid from the veggies as I could, but still ended up serving them on the side. We had this wrapped in a tortilla, along with shredded lettuce, sour cream and salsa. I also served Mexican Rice III (very good) also from this site, as a side. This was good and I liked the hint of lime flavor, but next time I would eliminate the oil, using only enough to sear the meat. And I would also skip the beef broth, perhaps replacing it with some bouillon granules.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
My family loved this! I used half a beer instead of the beef broth (I forgot to buy broth) and it came out perfectly - I will make again and stick with the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I made this for the recipe group selection of the week. I almost shouldn't rate this because I used a bottom round roast, but then thought I'd let everyone know it won't shred like a chuck roast will. I had to slice it instead of shredding after six hours and then put it back into the liquid on warm for about another 30 minutes. However, other than just rubbing the roast with olive oil, I followed the recipe and the flavor was wonderful. My meat was still so tender and although not real Mexican tasting it was very flavorful and juicy. We made tacos and my sons made flour tortilla wraps. You will need a slotted spoon to scoop out your meat though, a whole lot of liquid in the pot. I liked the cooked veggies on my taco. I'll probably try this one again, maybe up the spice some for more Mexican flavor. Thanks FireGuysWife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I'm not sure what I don't care for in this recipe, it is either the Worcestershire sauce which to me does not lend to the Mexican taste I was expecting or the undrained juice from the diced tomato or the sour undertone of the lime or maybe the combination. I don't know. The recipe worked well just not my taste. (recipe made for *RECIPE GROUP*)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This beef was so easy to make and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Whoa! After moving from Arizona to Virginia we tired several mexican restaurants and nobody makes machacca beef. After several failed attempts to find a restarant that can make it, I took to the kitchen myself. I was afraid between the jalapeno, chili powder, and cumin, that this would be too spicy, but that turned out not to be the case. I followed the recipe to the letter, only omitting the oil, and it was AMAZING! Putting the meat back in the slow cooker after shredding it, is a must. Letting it cook in all those juices after shredding it really makes it special. I had a lot of juice in the crock pot in the end, so i just pulled the meat out with tongs to serve in burritos, and then used a slotted spoon to remove the left overs. We've used this several ways...burritos, tacos, nachos...always amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Tastes EXACTLY like my local hole in the wall's Machaca Beef. I wasn't sure what some reviewers meant by "didn't taste very Mexican." The large amounts of cumin and oregano are tell tale signs that this dish is going to taste authentic. I know some people expect Mexican to taste one certain way, but that's like expecting bacon wrapped little smokies and boxed mac and cheese to share the same flavor profile since they are both American junkfood, right? Also, this dish is supposed to be soupy, whenever you get it at a restaurant, the beef is making the tortilla or bun soggy, from all the tomatoes and peppers and onions and beef drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Not too bad although I did cut the W sauce, lime juice and oil in half which I am glad I did as it was just sour enough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Served this to company for casual taco dinner. Just put out the trimmings and everyone can make their taco to their liking. It was huge hit! Only mod I made was I used meat with bone-in (butcher suggested). When you cook the meat on low in the crock for that long... the bone will easily fall off for you to throw away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I use a can of enchilada sauce, omit the Worcestershire sauce, add lemon juice, a cup of pico de gallo and some cilantro during cooking and after when I shred it and toss it together. I Love love me some Machacha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States