Big Al's K.C. Bar-B-Q Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Fantastic BBQ sauce. I make it just as written, but simmer for closer to 40-60 min as I like it thicker. I freeze half and keep the other half in the fridge. It makes a lot, but we get through it all because it's so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Made this delish recipe today.. Yum!!! I modified it slightly(1 1/4 c.cider Vinegar and 1 1/2 c. dark brown sugar)I also substituted Mesquite Smoke flavoring for the hickory. It came out amazing and is so tasty and thick. I actually canned 8 quarts of the sauce as we use a lot of bbq sauce in my household. I'm hooked on this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Absolutely amazing! Sweet with a slight kick to it. I made this to go with a shredded chicken BBQ. I wish I had doubled the recipe. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
You're quest for great sauce has just ended. You won't be sorry! Thanks Big Al
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I made it almost exactly as written in the receipt, the only exception was I was out of celery seed, so I used celery salt instead of the celery seed and salt. I was really glad I waited to taste it after it had simmered for a while because the sweetness really came through nicely. It was thick, and made quite a bit, I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Martinsville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Clinton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Great recipe used on baby back ribs. I cut the recipe in half, used rice vinegar instead of wine vinegar (didn't have wine vinegar), added 1 1/2 tsp of maple syrup and 1 1/2 tsp of Worcestershire sauce to the recipe. Consistency was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
We LOVE this recipe--I keep it mostly as written, yet we don't use ketchup as it is full of high fructose corn syrup. Instead, I add one can of drained, diced, chili-ready tomatoes and onions, and a 14.5 0z can of tomato sauce, blend all in blender or food processor, and then put in a crock so it can simmer all day as the meat smokes. It is thick, and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by headoverfeet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This was so yummy. I had to use half balsamic vinegar because I ran out of the red wine vinegar but still it is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is my first time making BBQ sauce and I am glad I did. Made this recipe exactly as written, except I added 1/2 tsp dried mustard, only 1/3 cup mollasses, and 3 teaspoons of liquid smoke because my husband and I aren't big on strong smokey taste. This is a nice taste of tomato/sweet/spicy/smoky/tangy goodness. I will make this again, but next time I will add only 2 tsp. liquid smoke as I think this would be good for our taste. VERY YUMMY...thx for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
VERY GOOD!!! WILL MAKE IT AGAIN AND AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 914) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States