Big Al's K.C. Bar-B-Q Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is a lot like Kc masterpiece or sweet baby rays. I read the label on sweet baby rays and it uses pineapple juice, so I have used that and its really great if you like it a little sweeter. Also try using more cyan pepper if you like it hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
It turned out AMAZING!!! But... I made some changes- hence the 4 star. First let me explain that we are Paleo because my DD has a mild IBS (which thanks to Paleo is healing up on it's own). So when a recipe calls for sugar I use half whatever it calls for in honey. When it calls for brown sugar I do the same- but it's 1TB molasses per cup for Paleo "brown sugar". So I did that here. I had everything on hand except for the RW-Vinegar and celery seeds. I chose to use fresh onion and garlic. I used 1/6cup onion and 4 cloves garlic and sauteed them in the butter, I waited till they caramelized lightly- figuring they would have a deeper flavor. I used smoked paprika, because I like a smokey sauce. I put it all together without the Vinegar and celery seeds and then ran up to the store with it in a slow cooker. When I got back with the ving I Loved the smell, but noted it already smelled very acidic "bright". So I tasted it- and this is the most significant change- I really did Not want to make it that much More acidic than it already was. I added 1/4 cup vinegar and tasted it again- and Man am I Glad I did!! because I thinking adding anymore than that would've ruined it for us. I Loved it that way- but I noted that there was not much of an umami taste, that I thought would really play well with the smokiness. So- I added 1Tb of Fish Sauce. It is as good at the sauce we get at a local restaurant that's known for it's homemade sauces!! Seriously- Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer DeMent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Have been trying several recipes but this one is just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandmaflanders

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I've made this sauce several times and think of it often when I am thinking of a BBQ sauce to go with what I am cooking. Great sauce worth making for any BBQ ideas you might have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Great sauce! I made HUGH batch (192 oz.). I changed up a few things, I replaced the tomato sauce with 1- 8 oz. can tomato paste, replaced liquid smoke with 2 tablespoons each ground cumin, paprika. I cut the vinegar by 1/4 cup and increased the brown sugar by 1/4. I then simmered it for 2 hours (I had the time) and it was used that night on ribs and chicken. My family LOVED IT!!!! I filled a 64 oz. ketchup bottle for the fridge and canned the rest, 2 qt. jars, 1 pt. jar. Love how you taste the sweet, then the vinegar then comes then mild heat. One of if not the best sauces I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This has been my favorite sauce for a couple years now, though I always double all of the spices. Recently I modified it for a large batch of pulled pork, using apple cider vinegar in place of red wine vinegar and coconut sugar instead of brown for a more earthy flavor. It's a huge hit with the boyfriend, and both of us have been raiding the fridge several times a day for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
We've been using this recipe for over a year- We use this for Chicken , Pork Ribs and Pulled Pork, and anything else that requires BBQ Sauce, its a winner !! I DO cut the Cayenne pepper in half but only because my 6 year old doesn't like spicey on any level. This is the only BBQ sauce we use anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Godfrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Love, Love, Love!! I used a pinch of Cayenne bc of the kids, but this is by far better than ANY store bought recipe. It's been a staple in my house for close to a year now! Search no more for your new favorite BBQ recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This by far is my favorite BBQ sauce. Works well with everything. Can't wait to make some again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Love this. Only changes we made were we didn't have enough ketchup, so we used 3 cups of tomato sauce and 1 cup of ketchup. We thought because of this we needed to add something, so why not 1/4 cup 100 proof Southern Comfort. We will never buy bottled sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roy&Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA
Living In: Bedias, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 934) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Bar-B-Que Sauce

The perfect BBQ sauce recipe, ready to make right at home.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States