Big Al's K.C. Bar-B-Q Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This sauce is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefbenjamin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coldwater, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
For those of you out there that don't want to use Liquid smoke because it tastes artificial. Here is what I did. I have an old kettle charcoal grill. I had some Applewood Chunks left over from a Pork Butt that I made a few weeks ago, so I decided to try something different. Instead of cooking this sauce down on the stove I decided to fire up the grill and light up a few chunks of Applewood. Put the sauce in my cast iron dutch oven and put the cover on my kettle. I then smoked the sauce while it simmered down. It came out perfect. No artificial flavor. The applewood creates an awesome flavor to this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Tried this tonight - delicious! Big hit. We didn't have liquid smoke or celery seed, but it was still delicious. Will use this recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Oh my word !! This is awesome!!! It's on the stove right now and MAN! Sooo good! Thank you so much for the recipe! It's going on tomorrow nights ribs YUM! Can't wait. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by live2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Used Worcester shire sauce instead of liquid smoke because we were doing the ribs & chicken thighs on the grill with wood chips. After checking reviews, used peanut oil instead of butter (for table time) & left out celery seed. GREAT!! To answer one re viewer's question: back when it was do hard to find all natural foods, I had a young son who has hyper kinetic & could not tolerate additives, preservatives, artificial floors & colors, etc. He wanted ketchup for hot fries & burgers like his older brother so I tried to make some. Close but no cigar -- uuntil I found a recipe in a really old cookbook I picked up in a used book store (already really old when i got it back in the'70 lol). The one ingredient that makes ketchup taste like ketchup is -- tahdah!) Cinnamon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I've made this a dozen times and it is hands down the BEST BBQ sauce ever. It always gets rave reviews!!! A perfect mix of sweet & spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I am sorry, I don't understand why this is so popular. Personal preference, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Better than any store bought. Awesome flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This recipe is soooo good, I did tweak it a little, I cut the brown sugar by 1/2 cup and used raw apple cider vinegar. It added a little zip and heat, like I said soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Scaled it back to 12 servings and doubled the spices (except salt)...awesome BBQ sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 928) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Bar-B-Que Sauce

The perfect BBQ sauce recipe, ready to make right at home.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States