Big Al's K.C. Bar-B-Q Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Great sauce! I made HUGH batch (192 oz.). I changed up a few things, I replaced the tomato sauce with 1- 8 oz. can tomato paste, replaced liquid smoke with 2 tablespoons each ground cumin, paprika. I cut the vinegar by 1/4 cup and increased the brown sugar by 1/4. I then simmered it for 2 hours (I had the time) and it was used that night on ribs and chicken. My family LOVED IT!!!! I filled a 64 oz. ketchup bottle for the fridge and canned the rest, 2 qt. jars, 1 pt. jar. Love how you taste the sweet, then the vinegar then comes then mild heat. One of if not the best sauces I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This has been my favorite sauce for a couple years now, though I always double all of the spices. Recently I modified it for a large batch of pulled pork, using apple cider vinegar in place of red wine vinegar and coconut sugar instead of brown for a more earthy flavor. It's a huge hit with the boyfriend, and both of us have been raiding the fridge several times a day for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
We've been using this recipe for over a year- We use this for Chicken , Pork Ribs and Pulled Pork, and anything else that requires BBQ Sauce, its a winner !! I DO cut the Cayenne pepper in half but only because my 6 year old doesn't like spicey on any level. This is the only BBQ sauce we use anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Godfrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Love, Love, Love!! I used a pinch of Cayenne bc of the kids, but this is by far better than ANY store bought recipe. It's been a staple in my house for close to a year now! Search no more for your new favorite BBQ recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This by far is my favorite BBQ sauce. Works well with everything. Can't wait to make some again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Love this. Only changes we made were we didn't have enough ketchup, so we used 3 cups of tomato sauce and 1 cup of ketchup. We thought because of this we needed to add something, so why not 1/4 cup 100 proof Southern Comfort. We will never buy bottled sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa and Roy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA
Living In: Bedias, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Amazing, no substitutions or adjustments necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Been cooking bbq sauces since hubby caught the bbq bug a few years back - and we've tried 50 + recipes. If i had to rate them this would be my favorite. Thanks a mill for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kristiansand, Vest-Agder, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Oh my! My husband and I just made this for dinner tonight and used on pulled pork. Absolutely the best pulled pork we've ever eaten. We followed the recipe with only 1 substitution, used coconut sugar instead of brown. All spices etc. were just right amounts. So delicious! Thank you for this amazing barbecue sauce recipe!Highly recommend, it doesn't get better than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
mama mia muuaahhhh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 910) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States