Big Al's K.C. Bar-B-Q Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Made this tonight, delicious! I did make a few very minor adjustments to accommodate our taste. I slightly decreased the cayenne powder, black pepper and the salt. I didn't have enough red wine vinegar so I used about 3/4 cup red wine vinegar and topped it off with white vinegar. I didn't add the amount suggested in the recipe though, I like more sweet than tangy as far as sauce goes. I also added a few teaspoons of Worcestershire sauce, about 1 1/2 tablespoons of regular yellow mustard, 1/4 cup more brown sugar and 1/4 cup of honey. I thought the flavor was mediocre before my adjustments,and was too tart for our taste. There wasn't any ingredient that I left out, I just added. After my changes this recipe was OUTSTANDING!!! Will save this one and make a lot this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss_whisk

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Soooo good! I will never buy BBQ sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
My husband LOVES this bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I made this sauce a long time ago and loved it. Made it again recently and I am very satisfied with the taste. Much better than the plastic bottle brands in the grocery store. I've tried it as directed and added a few ingredients to give it a little kick: 3 tsp. cayenne 1 TBS mesquite seasoning 3 TBS habanero sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Made this sauce exactly by the recipe. Used it on Bar-B-Q chicken breasts, on the grill. Was excellent. As good or better than any I have bought in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is a lot like Kc masterpiece or sweet baby rays. I read the label on sweet baby rays and it uses pineapple juice, so I have used that and its really great if you like it a little sweeter. Also try using more cyan pepper if you like it hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
It turned out AMAZING!!! But... I made some changes- hence the 4 star. First let me explain that we are Paleo because my DD has a mild IBS (which thanks to Paleo is healing up on it's own). So when a recipe calls for sugar I use half whatever it calls for in honey. When it calls for brown sugar I do the same- but it's 1TB molasses per cup for Paleo "brown sugar". So I did that here. I had everything on hand except for the RW-Vinegar and celery seeds. I chose to use fresh onion and garlic. I used 1/6cup onion and 4 cloves garlic and sauteed them in the butter, I waited till they caramelized lightly- figuring they would have a deeper flavor. I used smoked paprika, because I like a smokey sauce. I put it all together without the Vinegar and celery seeds and then ran up to the store with it in a slow cooker. When I got back with the ving I Loved the smell, but noted it already smelled very acidic "bright". So I tasted it- and this is the most significant change- I really did Not want to make it that much More acidic than it already was. I added 1/4 cup vinegar and tasted it again- and Man am I Glad I did!! because I thinking adding anymore than that would've ruined it for us. I Loved it that way- but I noted that there was not much of an umami taste, that I thought would really play well with the smokiness. So- I added 1Tb of Fish Sauce. It is as good at the sauce we get at a local restaurant that's known for it's homemade sauces!! Seriously- Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Have been trying several recipes but this one is just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I've made this sauce several times and think of it often when I am thinking of a BBQ sauce to go with what I am cooking. Great sauce worth making for any BBQ ideas you might have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Great sauce! I made HUGH batch (192 oz.). I changed up a few things, I replaced the tomato sauce with 1- 8 oz. can tomato paste, replaced liquid smoke with 2 tablespoons each ground cumin, paprika. I cut the vinegar by 1/4 cup and increased the brown sugar by 1/4. I then simmered it for 2 hours (I had the time) and it was used that night on ribs and chicken. My family LOVED IT!!!! I filled a 64 oz. ketchup bottle for the fridge and canned the rest, 2 qt. jars, 1 pt. jar. Love how you taste the sweet, then the vinegar then comes then mild heat. One of if not the best sauces I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 889) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States