Big Al's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
family loved it! easy to make and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was a VERY mild tasting marinade. I did decrease the salt, couldn't find my garlic powder so I used fresh, and used smoked paprika. It was good on the thighs but just not "bursting" (it could possibly be our taste buds are burnt out, IDK) with flavor. I would use it again when I want something thats not heavily seasoned for when we have company and such. Oh and FYI, this stuff is EXPLOSIVE on the grill. I used an entire spray bottle of water keeping down the flare ups so watch it closely because burnt chicken is NOT good eats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Very tangy, maybe too much vinegar in the recipe. Other flavors got lost. It was juicy, just not tasty. 0 out of 4 in the family liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I love this recipe. I have made it several times and my partner and I loved it every time. Only tried it on chicken thighs and will definitely try breasts the next. I also reduced the salt content, but not by much, and it turned out WONDERFUL! Thanks BIG AL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Good recipe. I used the marinade on chicken breasts for a party. I doubled the recipe and marinated for about 36 hours. The chicken was tender and juicy with a good flavor. I think this marinade would make a nice salad dressing as well. For those who are wondering about the flavor, it really is like a mild Italian dressing. I cut down on the salt per other reviewers. I think I added 2 teaspoons (I doubled the recipe, remember), but I added slowly and kept tasting to see when I had enough for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
We loved this so much that I made it two days in a row. The first time with boneless-skinless thighs, the next day with boneless-skinless breasts. It tastes better with the thighs, but either is fantastic. I halved the marinade as I was only using 4 pieces of boneless meat each time, therefore I cut the salt to a 1/2 teaspoon. I did not reserve any for basting as I cut out that step. I sprinkled the meat with a dash of cajun seasoning just before cooking on the George Foreman grill. I cooked them one at a time (I have the tiny foreman grill) for 5 minutes each and kept them warm in a 250 degree oven. The other change I made was I had to substitute for poultry seasoning because I didn't have any. I used a dash of nutmeg, a dash of cayenne, and 1/4 tsp each of oregano, rosemary, onion powder and marjoram. In the future, I will leave off my sprinkling of cajun seasoning, because it did make it a little too salty for me. I will probably make this at least once a week from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
REALLY liked this marinade! Good tangy delicious flavor. I did 2 things different from original recipe: 1.)I did follow others in reducing the salt to 1 tsp. 2.)I whisked all but the egg (had not egg substitue product), reserved the said amount, then whisked in 1 egg before pouring over meat. I do feel the egg is necessary to keep from seperating while marinateing. Next time I make this recipe, I reduce vinegar just a bit. I loved the tanginess, but felt the vinegar came out a bit too strong in the meat...just personal preferance. Thanks for the recipe. (Husband prefers this over any soy sauce marinade that I usually use.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
OMG! This was the BEST! I did use 1/2 Tbs of salt, and it came out PERFECT! The only problem.... we wanted more!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Very awesome marinade! Makes really juicy chicken breasts grilled on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Just ok. I used an egg instead of egg substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

How to Grill Chicken Better

Get tips for prepping and grilling crusty, juicy chicken.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States