Bifana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This was delicious! Made it as per the recipe but only had 3 cups of rhubarb, so added a big handful of dried cranberries. They added a nice flavour and a little punch of colour. I have leftover chutney and I'm excited about trying it with another dish - or maybe with cheese and crackers! Cooked pork to an internal temp of 150degrees. Took longer than 25 min. but meat was just a tiny bit pinkish and very juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina McDougall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I switched the cooking up on this. I threw all of the ingredients into a one gallon zip lock bag (I used boneless pork chops, left out the golden raisins and cilantro, I didn't have them on hand, and added twice as much olive oil). I let it marinate for a few hours and threw it in the freezer to make later. I took this out the night before I made it and left it in the fridge, in the morning I threw it in the crock pot on low and just let it cook. The meat came out dry so I will use a tenderloin in the future and will also consider searing it before adding it to the pot. But the smell was amazing!! I wish I had doubled the recipe. This was perfect for the busy person and I am sure that it is even better when it is made the way it is written. Over some rice and green beans, perfect dinner or lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KendraDarigan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Wonderful!! This is the 2nd time I've made this and it's just as good as I remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwiztidPrincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
By far the BEST roast I have ever made. I used half the amount of ginger since I had dried, and I substituted yellow curry powder for the cumin since I don't like plain cumin. Then I put it in my crockpot. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Took longer to cook than listed, but other than that, wonderful! I didnt have rhubarb so I replaced with tart apples and fresh cranberries, cutting back on the sugar. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Very tasty, it makes a lot of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Only a few things that can be done with rhubarb, most of them desserts. Rhubarb mushy, but very tasty. Didn't have garlic powder, so used minced garlic, about 2T. I used Thomson raisins, but dried cherries or cranberries could also be used. Just keep an eye on it so it doesn't burn to the bottom of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Wow, this is a total winner! We were looking for new ways to use our rhubarb this year, and thought we'd give this a shot. The picture doesn't do it justice, and I'm so glad we tried it despite the cover art! The flavors come together beautifully, and the chutney is the perfect pairing for the pork. GREAT way to cook the pork too - browning then cooking in the oven. Really lovely dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Wonderful recipe, I made it as written - except that I did not brown on the stove. I took another's suggestion and put the tenderloins together with some of the chutney, which I had made a couple of days earlier, to marinate for a couple hours before putting directly into the oven. Got raves all the way round. We had pre-dinner drinks served with Hummus III and Peppy's Pita Bread (recipes from this site and made the day before). Main course: te Bifana served with Basmati Rice (recipe from this site), Spring Rhubarb Salad (recipe from this site) and a green salad. Served home made French bread which I had made a couple days before and frozen - placed in the hot oven for 15 minutes and tasted like fresh. Dessert was fruit mixture of lightly cooked rhubarb and apple and fresh strawberries, topped with whipped cream, served on shortbread tart shells. (Base was Tiny Shortbread Tarts which I made larger). Great meal, everybody cleaned their plates. Easy meal to prepare in that so much could be done ahead of time. Good way to use up a lot of rhubarb as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane R
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This is definitely a keeper! It was a nice day, so we grilled it after marinating a couple of hours in some pureed chutney. I cut back on the red chiles, and will probably leave it out altogether next time since there were so many other flavors to enjoy that the heat wasn't necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States