Bierrocks III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This was a very tasty dish, even with the few ingredients included. My husband loved it. He rarely tells me anything is good, even though it is, so it was defintely "out of the park" on this one! I added some shredded carrots to mine, and it came out wonderful. I was tempted to add "something else" to it, but left it alone and it turned out great! I do have two words of advice: Drain the fat off of the beef! One should always do this no matter what is being prepared. The fat and grease will get into whatever you are cooking and leave an unpleasant taste and it will come out greasy. Secondly, I highly recommend letting the meat and cabbage filling cool completely before filling the pastry dough. Also, do not unroll the crescent rolls, or dough of your choice, until the moment you are ready to use it. They should both be cold. I found that putting the filling onto the dough while it was still hot/warm began cooking the dough and made it fall apart. Also, a bit of flour on your "assembly area" doesn't hurt either. I made it with both crescent rolls and buttermilk biscuits, to see if it made a difference. In my opinion, the buttermilk biscuits tasted the best. The crescent rolls kind of overshadowed the meat and cabbage. The biscuits just added a hint of flavor and complemented the meat and cabbage perfectly. I will definitely make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
use a rolling pin on refridgerator biscuts. works the best, and i've tried crescent rolls and pie crust before w/ this, turned out too sweet or unflavored. the flaky biscuits work the best for some reason :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Schmeling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
These were great! I made the dough in my bread machine using a slightly sweet roll recipe. For the sausage, I used RB Rice medium. Can't beat RB Rice!! And to make this easier, I used bagged coleslaw. DEFINITELY a time saver. I believe I used quite a bit more than 5 cups, too. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I made these for a surprise birthday party and they were gobbled up so quickly I wasn't able to try one myself. I had to beg my husband to let me have a bite of his! Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I grew up eating these. In my family, we call these "Krautburgers." My mother makes them with large size frozen dinner rolls and serves them with extra butter. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
Good! I've never had a bierock before but was intrigued by the recipe and am always looking for homemade things for hubby to take to work so he doesn't eat garbage... The only thing I did different was (like the other reviewer) using frozen dinner rolls. I just stretched them out with my hands to make big circles and then filled them. One thing, though - you need more like two tablespoons of filling per circle if you want to end up with 18 (1 1/2 dozen) bierrocks. Great recipe and I will make it several times in the future, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This recipe was great. I did use frozen texas dinner rolls instead of the refridgerator kind. They were tasty and they have frozen very well. I take them out the night before and put them in the fridge, then microwave them for about 1.5 min. Super fast lunch and much more affordable then "hot pockets".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
We were looking for something different for lunch, and this sure fit the bill. These are absolutely delicious! I halved the recipe, and sauteed and refrigerated the filling the night before. I used 85/15 ground beef (rather than lean), and hot italian sausage which added a wonderful flavour without being hot at all. I didn't drain the drippings after sauteeing since the mixture was moist but not runny. I used one 12 oz can of buttermilk biscuits, and rolled each biscuit out to 1/4" thickness. I found the dough easier to work with by keeping the biscuits in the fridge until I was ready to roll them. Cooking time was about 20 minutes and yielded 5 sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
great! used homemade dough... loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Very easy to make--using medium spiced sausage really gives recipe a good kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States