Bierrocks III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This was a very tasty dish, even with the few ingredients included. My husband loved it. He rarely tells me anything is good, even though it is, so it was defintely "out of the park" on this one! I added some shredded carrots to mine, and it came out wonderful. I was tempted to add "something else" to it, but left it alone and it turned out great! I do have two words of advice: Drain the fat off of the beef! One should always do this no matter what is being prepared. The fat and grease will get into whatever you are cooking and leave an unpleasant taste and it will come out greasy. Secondly, I highly recommend letting the meat and cabbage filling cool completely before filling the pastry dough. Also, do not unroll the crescent rolls, or dough of your choice, until the moment you are ready to use it. They should both be cold. I found that putting the filling onto the dough while it was still hot/warm began cooking the dough and made it fall apart. Also, a bit of flour on your "assembly area" doesn't hurt either. I made it with both crescent rolls and buttermilk biscuits, to see if it made a difference. In my opinion, the buttermilk biscuits tasted the best. The crescent rolls kind of overshadowed the meat and cabbage. The biscuits just added a hint of flavor and complemented the meat and cabbage perfectly. I will definitely make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
use a rolling pin on refridgerator biscuts. works the best, and i've tried crescent rolls and pie crust before w/ this, turned out too sweet or unflavored. the flaky biscuits work the best for some reason :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVIOLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
These were great! I made the dough in my bread machine using a slightly sweet roll recipe. For the sausage, I used RB Rice medium. Can't beat RB Rice!! And to make this easier, I used bagged coleslaw. DEFINITELY a time saver. I believe I used quite a bit more than 5 cups, too. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I made these for a surprise birthday party and they were gobbled up so quickly I wasn't able to try one myself. I had to beg my husband to let me have a bite of his! Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I grew up eating these. In my family, we call these "Krautburgers." My mother makes them with large size frozen dinner rolls and serves them with extra butter. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
Good! I've never had a bierock before but was intrigued by the recipe and am always looking for homemade things for hubby to take to work so he doesn't eat garbage... The only thing I did different was (like the other reviewer) using frozen dinner rolls. I just stretched them out with my hands to make big circles and then filled them. One thing, though - you need more like two tablespoons of filling per circle if you want to end up with 18 (1 1/2 dozen) bierrocks. Great recipe and I will make it several times in the future, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This recipe was great. I did use frozen texas dinner rolls instead of the refridgerator kind. They were tasty and they have frozen very well. I take them out the night before and put them in the fridge, then microwave them for about 1.5 min. Super fast lunch and much more affordable then "hot pockets".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
great! used homemade dough... loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Very easy to make--using medium spiced sausage really gives recipe a good kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
First- I made my own pastry from scratch and it was fantastic and I will not use anything else now. The filling I thought was incredibly bland (I followed the recipe initially and tasted the filling before coming to this conclusion). I wound up adding extra salt, pepper, some garlic, and about 2-3TB of deli mustard. After these fixes, these were outstanding, wonderful pub food delights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States