Bierrocks III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I grew up eating these. In my family, we call these "Krautburgers." My mother makes them with large size frozen dinner rolls and serves them with extra butter. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Great-- my boyfriend is German and he really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I feel these were missing something. The filling didn't have much taste when it was hot. Tasted better cold. My husband is German and had never heard of these. I heard they were polish instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woodstock42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greeley, Colorado, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Maybe it was the sausage I used,but these were greasy, even with straining out the grease. Good...but not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
We used frozen texas dinner rolls and 2T of filling. Even making all 24 rolls, we had at least 2C of filling leftover. These are great straight out of the oven, all crispy and delicious. But, we didn't like microwaved leftovers as much. We put a slice of swiss cheese in half of the rolls - haven't tried those yet, but I bet we'll like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
So easy and so freaking good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
use a rolling pin on refridgerator biscuts. works the best, and i've tried crescent rolls and pie crust before w/ this, turned out too sweet or unflavored. the flaky biscuits work the best for some reason :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Schmeling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
great! used homemade dough... loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This was a very tasty dish, even with the few ingredients included. My husband loved it. He rarely tells me anything is good, even though it is, so it was defintely "out of the park" on this one! I added some shredded carrots to mine, and it came out wonderful. I was tempted to add "something else" to it, but left it alone and it turned out great! I do have two words of advice: Drain the fat off of the beef! One should always do this no matter what is being prepared. The fat and grease will get into whatever you are cooking and leave an unpleasant taste and it will come out greasy. Secondly, I highly recommend letting the meat and cabbage filling cool completely before filling the pastry dough. Also, do not unroll the crescent rolls, or dough of your choice, until the moment you are ready to use it. They should both be cold. I found that putting the filling onto the dough while it was still hot/warm began cooking the dough and made it fall apart. Also, a bit of flour on your "assembly area" doesn't hurt either. I made it with both crescent rolls and buttermilk biscuits, to see if it made a difference. In my opinion, the buttermilk biscuits tasted the best. The crescent rolls kind of overshadowed the meat and cabbage. The biscuits just added a hint of flavor and complemented the meat and cabbage perfectly. I will definitely make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
Good! I've never had a bierock before but was intrigued by the recipe and am always looking for homemade things for hubby to take to work so he doesn't eat garbage... The only thing I did different was (like the other reviewer) using frozen dinner rolls. I just stretched them out with my hands to make big circles and then filled them. One thing, though - you need more like two tablespoons of filling per circle if you want to end up with 18 (1 1/2 dozen) bierrocks. Great recipe and I will make it several times in the future, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States