Bierrocks I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
These were really good, considering the average reviews. I loved the dough! I did add some garlic powder, paprika, and worcestershire sauce to the beef. They were a bit time consuming, but I will be making these again!!! What a great recipe to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
The kids knicknamed these "Irish Cheeseburgers". We love them. The dough is great for any filling(homemade pocket sandwiches). Use up leftovers: sloppy joes,taco meat. Try using up sm portions of turkey or chicken. Add veggies like onions, peppers( for fajita style)Use your imagination!...Whatever your gang likes. These freeze extremely well, just put them in gallon ziplock bags and label with the filling, they all look alike when baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I really liked this recipe. It was a bit different, but actually really good. My husband didn't like it, but he is very picky. It does take a little work to make, but I think it's worth it. You should definately give them a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NASCAR24FAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sulphur, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Wonderful pastry! I added about 1/2 cup Worcestershire sauce and chopped garlic to the filling. I also used sharp cheddar instead for more flavor. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
We really enjoyed these, especially because they have such great potential as homemade "convenience food." I used a little less cabbage than what was called for and substituted grated cheddar for the American (went heavy on it too). I also added about a tsp of pepper to the filling. It still needs just a little tweaking... but thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Thanks for a wonderful recipe, Andi! I have made this several times with many variations. Your filling was good enhanced with grated Parmesan cheese in place of American, garlic powder and pepperoni pieces. I have also made it with ground beef, bacon and onion.The dough is wonderful for any kind of baked sandwich. Here's a yummy variation without cabbage and hamburger: spread the dough rounds with cream cheese, then layer with cotto salami, parmesan cheese, ham or chicken slices, onion slice, tomato slice and green pepper slices. Mmmm Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
These are pretty good. I don't know if I used too little cheese, but the filling was kind of bland. I definitely want to try them again because I love the idea and the dough was really delicious and easy to make. I'll probably tweak the filling a little bit...maybe try pizza toppings or fajita ingredients. These keep well in the freezer and reheat for a quick dinner or lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
I wasn't too sure about this recipe, but they came out pretty good. Make sure not to use too much dough for each. The ones I prepared at the beginning came out quite larger than the others. My husband really likes them, so I'm sure I'll get my practice making these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
I love this recipe. These are great to make ahead of time and refrigerator or freeze. I made them for a pot luck at work and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2000
I loved the pastry for this recipe. I will use it for dinner rolls and as a basic pastry to fill with other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States