Bierox Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Aspenglade, your casserole is SO easy! Thanks for the idea.I grew up in a German Catholic community, and Bierox (we spell Bierochs) are absolutely delicious. A couple variations we have used are adding sauerkraut with the cabbage, adding an envelop of onion soup mix, and/or using monterrey jack cheese. The original recipe doesn't call for cheese at all. It also calls for bread dough. You can buy the frozen dinner rolls (easy!). And they are delicious with Dijon mustard or spicy beer and braut mustard. In the original version you roll the dough into a square, place a large couple spoonfuls of hamburger mixture in the middle and pull up corners and pinch together and bake until brown. For crescent rolls, pinch two together to form a square, roll out and then pinch corners. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
OMG this was SOOOO GOOD! My husband and I used to make bierochs from scratch but we are usually too busy to do that anymore. I was really skeptical of this recipe but it was amazing! I did end up putting in two cloves of garlic because they were on the small side...and I just couldn't use velveta for health reasons, so I cut the amount of cheese way down and just used shredded cheddar and it turned out fabulous! Thank you so much for sharing this easy, delicious recipe! Top 5 recipe for us now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I did make one adjustment by adding grated Muenster cheese instead of processed cheese. Other than that one small change this was easy to prepare and very tasty. My family devoured it. Next time I will have to double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaTamale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
New Family Favorite!! The only change I did to the recipe is put 2lbs of hamburger instead of 1lbs. Only because that is how our beef is packaged. The ratio of hamburger and cabbage seemed just right to me. Great, easy recipe!! Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Wow, great,easy recipe! I used Pepper Jack Cheese to add some Kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
This was ok. I added cream of mushroom soup to the hamburger cabbage mixture and put the crescent rolls on the bottom and the top, with cheese sprinkled over the top of the cabbage mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is very similar to my Dad'd favorite recipe. Our family makes this but adds Taco seasoning into the beef mixture and call it Russian Taco's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
We love this and make it often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Woodbranch, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I like this. Maybe a little to much cheese. Maybe next time I'll half the amount of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
We thought that this was pretty good. I have no idea what "real" Bierox is supposed to taste like, so I'm not sure how this compares. My 3yr old and 5 yr old even ate this, cabbage and all, and wanted seconds. It's very cheesy (a plus for my kids!) and the crescent rolls make it really yummy. The only negative thing was it was a bit bland. Next time I might add some peppers or a can of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States