Bierocks (German Meat Turnovers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
This is so easy and so good! Recipe requires NO changes. I loved it for dinner but think it would also be good in miniature for appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
I made these as appetizers for a surprise birthday party we were giving. I served them with a sweet and hot honey mustard dip. They were a total hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
My husband is German, and he loved this recipe! I also thought it was a very good dish with a wonderful European favor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
We first tasted BIEROCKs in Kansas two years ago. At the airport I purchased a Kansas Cookbook just to get the recipe; I haven't found it anyplace else. The book states the recipe was brought to Kansas by the Volga Germans who emigrated from Russia. And are we ever glad they did. I freeze these in foil so our older sons can just grab a few and microwave and eat "on the run." Marian Elizabeth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
i have never tasted bierocks before, but if this is what they really taste like, then they are yummy. i used refrigerated reduced fat biscuit dough instead, which was convenient because i made them in all different sizes--big ones using one whole biscuit piece and bite-sized ones using quartered biscuit pieces. they tasted kinda like a hamburger when it was straight from the oven, but the flavors really came out later, when i reheated them for a late-night snack. try melting cheese on top. i may add cheese to the meat mixture next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
A BIG hit with my husband! Great flavor although I left out the carroway seeds. Will be making many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
Family loved these. Very easy to make (once you get the rolling out the dough part down!~). Very inexpensive and filling! A budget lovers dream! Will use a little less worchestshire. Thank you!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
Took to wine tasting party where everyone said they were delicious. Myself on the other hand thought the filling was good, but the bread used made for somewhat of a dry tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I mustered all my will not to eat too much while simmering in the pan as well as other hands lured in by the aroma. Although I had difficulty with stuffing the dough (I used Pillsbury crescent ready made- Thank God!) they stayed together quite nicely out of the oven. Hate onions; I didn’t use them, and it came out very tasty nonetheless. A little salty, so next time a sweaty workout is in order to replenish sodium levels with this dish. Bierocks will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
I think the recipe has great flavor, but I ended up with way too much filling for the dough. I could have used 3 loaves of the frozen bread dough and still had plenty of filling. Also, the frozen bread dough is kind of a pain to handle-I may follow the suggestions and use biscuit dough or crescent rolls. Another possibility is to use the frozen loaves and stuff them, then roll jelly-roll style, and slice and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States