Bierocks (German Meat Turnovers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Great recipe except the caraway seed amount was waaaay too much. Next time I think I will add only a quarter of the amount or none at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was very good. I did use the Pillsbury crusty french bread as suggested in one of the reviews. It was very easy. Everyone in my family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I should have read the other reviews before I made these. Followed the recipe and they were blah. Didn't use caraway seeds. Used frozen dinner rolls, they were easy to roll out. May try again with some suggestions from others. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
The first time I made these was for "Oktoberfest" for a church group. I was running out of time, so I used pizza dough from the refrigerator case instead. I received lots of compliments, but knew they could be even better. The next time I made them, I added 2 cups of mozzarella cheese and used frozen yeast rolls. I let them thaw out and rise some, before rolling them out and bundling the meat mixture inside. They were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by manditrtl10
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Amazing! One of our favorites! I double recipe and freeze for lunches/quick dinners. for more moist crust, spread w/butter a couple times while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manditrtl10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedaredge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I've grown up on these and absolutely love them. All of my grandparents were born in Germany. I have a couple of suggestions....I add very finely diced green pepper to the cabbage and meat mixture. Our family frys them in a deep-fryer instead of baking them. Just fry until golden brown on each side - just a few minutes. What a difference!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Yummy!!! I declared yesterday "Octoberfest" and my house and we enjoyed these along with German Potato Salad also from the site. I used pillsbury cresent rolls and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I made these as appetizers for an Oktoberfest party (at about 1/4 the size as specified in the recipe.) I ran the filling through my food processor once it had cooled, for a finer texture. I also undercooked them by about a minute or two and then froze them once cooled. For my party, I thawed them in the fridge and then warmed them up for about 5 min. in the oven. The bierocks were a huge hit at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Good recipe, I always use Rhodes Frozen Bread Dough. Usually the dough is too cool if you are having a hard time rolling it out, let it set for about 10 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This recipe was fantastic! The taste was great and it was easy to prepare, you can't ask for much more than that. Although I must admit, for my own personal taste, next time I will halve the caraway seeds. I'm not sure if I just added too much or what happened, but the caraway was overwhelming, but that's just my own personal taste..the recipe is not at fault for that! Thus again, great recipe and a nice change of pace from the norm. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States