Bierocks (German Meat Turnovers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was very good. I didn't have caraway seeds so didn't use, but will make again with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I loved these! And so did my family I didn't have Caraway seeds so I left them out. So yummy I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jam21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeview, Oregon, USA
Living In: Birch Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
They just didn't taste like Grandma's. I think I'll try this again, but without the caraway seeds for sure. Also, I think drained and rinsed sauerkraut instead of fresh cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Great stuff! I did some substituting on the filling; I had some leftover roast, so used that instead of ground beef, and I had no cabbage. I did add some canned mushrooms and some fresh baby spinach. Every ten minutes I brushed them with melted butter, which made them soft and flavorful. For dough I used half a recipe of 'Amish White Bread' from this site, which is a slightly dense, sweet bread. Turned out wonderful, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I used another recipe from this site for the dough: Pam's Bierocks. So my rating is for the filling only here, and I give that 5 stars. Neither I nor my husband have ever eaten a bierock before, nor do we live in a part of the US where anyone else eats them, but we're hooked. I made a change that I don't think is significant overall, and that is that I used leftover london broil meat, diced up, instead of ground burger meat. This choice was based solely on economics, as I had leftover london broil to use up :) I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I loved this recipe. I only made a very few changes. I had no lemon pepper, so just used coarse ground pepper. I used crescent rolls instead of the bread and added a 3 cheese blend into it as well. I'm from the land of bierocks and there is always an option to have cheese or not, and since I love mine with cheese, I had to add it in. My husband loved them so much that he keeps talking about making a business out of selling them. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hugalot777
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
We loved these. Very good flavor and so easy to fix!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was a good starter for bierocks. I used the suggestion of flaky biscuits and rolled them out to about 5 inches. In the meat mixture I put more salt, (was out of lemon pepper) so put lemon zest and a LOT more pepper. Also put more than twice the amount of caraway seed called for. Thank you for sharing this recipe as this will be made again in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
really good, we dipped ours in mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
These were very good. I would make again but next time I would use ground pork more spice for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States