Bierocks (German Meat Turnovers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
We love this recipe!! They freeze great too, just microwave for 1.5-2 minutes on high and they taste almost as good as fresh out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Tasty but I could not get my pockets to stay closed. The dough just would not remain pinched shut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Good recipe, works with frozen rolls well, biscuits, croissants, or even pie crusts (cut into 6" circles, filling in the middle and fold in half & bake). If you want it more "runza"-like, chop your meat & cabbage up very finely after cooking it, I put mine in the food processor (separately: meat after cooking & cabbage before cooking, but not so much that it turns to mush of course) I also love the addition of green pepper (finely chopped), it gives it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by huskerchick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Broken Bow, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I liked this recipe but something with the flavor was a little funky. I was good and we all ate it but i think there was too much cabbage or caraway in it. I will probably make this again, only cut back on the cabage and caraway a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I made the recipe pretty much as written and there were no leftovers. My teenaged step children ate several of them and my 3/4 German mother raved about them. I'm going to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tooncecat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Hmm, followed the recipe exactly (used frozen roll dough instead of bread loves. 2 pressed together was the perfect size for each Bierock!) it was just OK. I don't know if it was the lemon pepper, caraway or Worcestershire, but it had an odd flavor. We had to cover the taste with mustard and ketchup. I'll have to experiment and leave one out at a time next time I make this and see which one we didn't like the flavor of and omit it from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This recipe is very close to the one my German Great Grandmother, Grandmother, and mother make. Rather than using frozen dough, however, Pilsbury brand quick rising bread doguh is what my mom used to perfect this perfect German, stick-to-your-ribs culinary tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I cooked the filling exactly as the recipe directs - except I cut the salt in half. Instead of the bread dough I made a quick 'n easy sweet pizza dough. Yummy! We like the sweet & savory combo. For a bit more flavor, put about 3 or 4 drips of low sodium soy sauce into the pocket as you eat it! mmmm! The recipe left untouched makes a great base for creativity and personal taste alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Nice flavor and fairly easy to make. I had enough filling that I made extras and put in the freezer for a quick lunch or dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Didn't have caraway seeds but didn't seem to matter. These were great! I did wrap them a little different. More like an egg roll wrap. The wedges weren't easy for me. Then I was able to get more "Stuffing" inside too! Taste was nummy. My spouse ate 4 of them...because he didn't want to "eat too many"...hehehe. When I figured them out they seem to be 6 WW points with the bread dough I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BettyBoop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States