Bierocks (German Meat Turnovers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I have made these many times and this recipe is good just as it is written. I have changed it to fit our eating style, using frozen whole wheat bread dough and ground turkey. Still very very good. I freeze them and put them in my husbands lunch. He just heats them a bit in the microwave at work. We take to the beach, on day hikes. They are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Rincon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This is very similar to my step-father's family recipe for bierock. They serve them hot with a brown gravy, but they are also good cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This will be a added to our dinner schedule!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Excellent recipe. I used large flakey refridgerator biscuits and they worked perfectly. I also used celery seed instead of carroway since I don't care for them. Easy to make ahead and pop in the oven when your ready. Leftovers are in the freezer for a quick lunch or snack. Definately do the melted butter before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
My mother use to make these and I've continued making them. Russell, Kansas is where I'm from I make a big batch, now I use dinner rolls in a can. Bake them and freeze them for quickie meal for my 88 year old daddy when I'm at work. I can remember buying them from a bakery back in Kansas for lunch....they are the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Even the kids gobbled these up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYFANWYS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
We LOVED these. My son does not like cabbage so I made his with beef and shredded cheddar. I took the advice of another reviewer and used a can of Pillsbury flaky biscuits. I rolled each round out with a small roller. I saved the extra filling and plan on using it for lunch tomorrow wrapped in a tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
The flavor was very good but seriously too much work. The dough was hard to roll out because it kept snapping back into a smaller shape. I will probably make again but use a different type of dough/bread. I also doubled the meat which seemed to balance the amount of cabbage really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I make my own dough and use this filling. This is the best! I have to double the recipe because they don't last very long and I like to freeze a few for lunches during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
The added flavors (garlic, Worcestershire, garlic, caraway) blended just right with cabbage, beef and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States