Bierocks (German Meat Turnovers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I was surprised that no one had tried using prepared biscuit dough. I made the filling as instructed, but just realized that I left out the salt (fine without it). I had a can of jumbo buttermilk biscuits and also a can jumbo flaky biscuits (8 per can). There was so much filling that I ended up using both cans. I just rolled out a small pizza-sized round about six inches per biscuit, put filling on, folded and crimped them and baked them in the oven for about 15 min., when the tops started to get golden brown. Talk about easy to work with and cooks in half-the-time! Both biscuit doughs were good, but the vote tended toward using the flaky biscuit dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
These are *excellent*. They vanish almost instantly at parties. People beg me to make these. I save a ton of time and cleanup when making them by buying the canned Pillsbury "Crusty French Loaf" brand of frozen bread. Instead of being a wad of dough, this bread is packaged as one thin sheet of dough rolled up like a jelly roll. I just unroll it, and voila, perfectly even flat dough ready to go. I just cut it into squares and make filled triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Great! This recipe is very similar to what the fast-food chain Runza (in Nebraska) sells as "Runzas," a local favorite. My German grandmother used to make these, as well, and no one ever thought to write it down so it was lost. My only tip is to make sure you drain the meat mixture very well, and that you salt and pepper generously (I omitted the lemon pepper and used black pepper, instead). Definitely brush with butter. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
I made these as appetizers for a surprise birthday party we were giving. I served them with a sweet and hot honey mustard dip. They were a total hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
We first tasted BIEROCKs in Kansas two years ago. At the airport I purchased a Kansas Cookbook just to get the recipe; I haven't found it anyplace else. The book states the recipe was brought to Kansas by the Volga Germans who emigrated from Russia. And are we ever glad they did. I freeze these in foil so our older sons can just grab a few and microwave and eat "on the run." Marian Elizabeth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
A BIG hit with my husband! Great flavor although I left out the carroway seeds. Will be making many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
My husband is German, and he loved this recipe! I also thought it was a very good dish with a wonderful European favor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
i have never tasted bierocks before, but if this is what they really taste like, then they are yummy. i used refrigerated reduced fat biscuit dough instead, which was convenient because i made them in all different sizes--big ones using one whole biscuit piece and bite-sized ones using quartered biscuit pieces. they tasted kinda like a hamburger when it was straight from the oven, but the flavors really came out later, when i reheated them for a late-night snack. try melting cheese on top. i may add cheese to the meat mixture next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I can not explain how good these are! They were a huge hit with everyone, and I ate so much I thought I would pop. I did take a few shortcuts. I used bagged coleslaw mix, with shredded cabbage and carrots, in place of the head of cabbage. I also used croissant dough in place of the frozen dough. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
I made this recipe and my husband and I loved it! I did not find the bread dough in the store, so I used one can of crescent rolls, and one can of Pillsbury pizza crust. Both worked just fine. I used a bag of shredded cabbage,and instead of brushing with melted butter, I used butter spray. The only thing I would change is maybe reduce the salt added. There were not very many leftovers, but the few that were made a tasty treat for a snack. This will be added to my future menus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States