Bierocks (German Meat Turnovers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I was surprised that no one had tried using prepared biscuit dough. I made the filling as instructed, but just realized that I left out the salt (fine without it). I had a can of jumbo buttermilk biscuits and also a can jumbo flaky biscuits (8 per can). There was so much filling that I ended up using both cans. I just rolled out a small pizza-sized round about six inches per biscuit, put filling on, folded and crimped them and baked them in the oven for about 15 min., when the tops started to get golden brown. Talk about easy to work with and cooks in half-the-time! Both biscuit doughs were good, but the vote tended toward using the flaky biscuit dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
These are *excellent*. They vanish almost instantly at parties. People beg me to make these. I save a ton of time and cleanup when making them by buying the canned Pillsbury "Crusty French Loaf" brand of frozen bread. Instead of being a wad of dough, this bread is packaged as one thin sheet of dough rolled up like a jelly roll. I just unroll it, and voila, perfectly even flat dough ready to go. I just cut it into squares and make filled triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
We first tasted BIEROCKs in Kansas two years ago. At the airport I purchased a Kansas Cookbook just to get the recipe; I haven't found it anyplace else. The book states the recipe was brought to Kansas by the Volga Germans who emigrated from Russia. And are we ever glad they did. I freeze these in foil so our older sons can just grab a few and microwave and eat "on the run." Marian Elizabeth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Great! This recipe is very similar to what the fast-food chain Runza (in Nebraska) sells as "Runzas," a local favorite. My German grandmother used to make these, as well, and no one ever thought to write it down so it was lost. My only tip is to make sure you drain the meat mixture very well, and that you salt and pepper generously (I omitted the lemon pepper and used black pepper, instead). Definitely brush with butter. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Ever in search of the perfect Bierrock recipe, I had to try these even though they were made with frozen dough. I'm not a big fan of frozen dough. The filling was very good nonetheless. The dough left a lot to be desired, which of course, compromised the taste of the bierrock itself. I may try these again with a homemade sweet dough recipe like the authentic 'rocks. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
ok so my husband changed this recipe alot when he cooked it, but this was thebase recipe he went off of. the dough - he used thed dough recipe from Pam's Bierocks. The dough turned out amazing. Soft and delicous! He used a chuck steak that he braised with the rest of the spices from the ingredients. Braised it for a few hours. The dough after it was made stayed in the fridge all night. The next day he added the meat after it was shredded to about a cup to a cup and a half of saurkraut and used that as the filling. Was very good. So we changed it quite a bit, but was very good. Just to give you some ideas of what you can do with this recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
I made these as appetizers for a surprise birthday party we were giving. I served them with a sweet and hot honey mustard dip. They were a total hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
Family loved these. Very easy to make (once you get the rolling out the dough part down!~). Very inexpensive and filling! A budget lovers dream! Will use a little less worchestshire. Thank you!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
This is so easy and so good! Recipe requires NO changes. I loved it for dinner but think it would also be good in miniature for appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I mustered all my will not to eat too much while simmering in the pan as well as other hands lured in by the aroma. Although I had difficulty with stuffing the dough (I used Pillsbury crescent ready made- Thank God!) they stayed together quite nicely out of the oven. Hate onions; I didn’t use them, and it came out very tasty nonetheless. A little salty, so next time a sweaty workout is in order to replenish sodium levels with this dish. Bierocks will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States