Bierocks (German Meat Turnovers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
The first time I made these was for "Oktoberfest" for a church group. I was running out of time, so I used pizza dough from the refrigerator case instead. I received lots of compliments, but knew they could be even better. The next time I made them, I added 2 cups of mozzarella cheese and used frozen yeast rolls. I let them thaw out and rise some, before rolling them out and bundling the meat mixture inside. They were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by manditrtl10
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Amazing! One of our favorites! I double recipe and freeze for lunches/quick dinners. for more moist crust, spread w/butter a couple times while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manditrtl10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedaredge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I've grown up on these and absolutely love them. All of my grandparents were born in Germany. I have a couple of suggestions....I add very finely diced green pepper to the cabbage and meat mixture. Our family frys them in a deep-fryer instead of baking them. Just fry until golden brown on each side - just a few minutes. What a difference!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Yummy!!! I declared yesterday "Octoberfest" and my house and we enjoyed these along with German Potato Salad also from the site. I used pillsbury cresent rolls and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I made these as appetizers for an Oktoberfest party (at about 1/4 the size as specified in the recipe.) I ran the filling through my food processor once it had cooled, for a finer texture. I also undercooked them by about a minute or two and then froze them once cooled. For my party, I thawed them in the fridge and then warmed them up for about 5 min. in the oven. The bierocks were a huge hit at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Good recipe, I always use Rhodes Frozen Bread Dough. Usually the dough is too cool if you are having a hard time rolling it out, let it set for about 10 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This recipe was fantastic! The taste was great and it was easy to prepare, you can't ask for much more than that. Although I must admit, for my own personal taste, next time I will halve the caraway seeds. I'm not sure if I just added too much or what happened, but the caraway was overwhelming, but that's just my own personal taste..the recipe is not at fault for that! Thus again, great recipe and a nice change of pace from the norm. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Well, DH liked these very much. He ate four of them "just snacking"! I haven't tried one yet, but they smell great. I left out the caraway seed since DH would not have approved. (I'm sure I would have liked it though) I got 24 of these and used frozen roll dough so all I had to do was roll the balls into round discs and fill. This was very good and DH was very pleased (Bierox is one of his favorites). oh, and don't forget to serve the mustard for dipping! Thanks Pamela for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This is a good recipe. The filling is tasty and you can do all sorts of things with it. But if you are inexperienced with frozen bread dough, be warned. What a pain. My wife had to rescue me as I tried to put these together--they were hard to roll out and just a mess to deal with in general (hard to seal and I followed the defrosting instructions to the letter). The finished product, however, was worth it. I used juice of half a lemon and freshly ground pepper, a little soy sauce along with the Worcestershire sauce, some cold coffee with a tablespoon of flour, and some dashes of soul seasoning. The frozen bread dough is a product we have never used (got three loaves at Stuff-mart and baked the extra one; really good) so we will look forward to experimenting with what other reviewers have suggested. I will stick with the fresh cabbage since I think it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
My hubby and I love this recipe. I cheat with the dough- I buy frozen dinner roll dough- it helps me keep them uniform in size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States