Bierocks (German Meat Turnovers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was a good starter for bierocks. I used the suggestion of flaky biscuits and rolled them out to about 5 inches. In the meat mixture I put more salt, (was out of lemon pepper) so put lemon zest and a LOT more pepper. Also put more than twice the amount of caraway seed called for. Thank you for sharing this recipe as this will be made again in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
really good, we dipped ours in mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
These were very good. I would make again but next time I would use ground pork more spice for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
YUM! I have never made anything like this before, and I have never tasted a Bierock, either. It was great! Kind of like a "Hot Pocket" only better. I didn't use the white bread, but opted for the crescent roll dough as suggested by others and it was wonderful. I just smushed the triangles down, put meat on one, and used another to cover the meat. I didn't have a full pound of beef, so I also used some ground Italian sausage. I didn't use butter as a topping (uneccessary fat and calories), but did use the egg wash which gave these a nice brown shell. With the crescent rolls, however, I found that 15 minutes in a 350 degree oven was the perfect amount of time. I will definitely make these again... I was thinking of making bite sized ones for Sunday football get togethers. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I made this less of a "german" pocket, and more of a general "meat" pocket. Since it's a time consuming recipe, I cook the meat a day before making the pockets. It's also easier to work with cold meat. The first time I used the seasonings as stated minus the caraway, and no cabbage. Before filling, I mix low-moisture mozz cheese with the cold meat. I also used reduced fat "grands" canned biscuits. We agreed the lemon pepper was too much. This time I did the same, replacing lemon pepper with black pepper and pepper flakes. It was much better. I cool on a rack, wrap each pocket in saran then freeze all in a ziploc for a "grab n go" meal. Just remove from the saran, place on a paper towel, microwave, and go! I'm able to get 12 large pockets from 1 lb of meat w/cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I made just a couple of small changes. I added just a couple shakes of red pepper flakes to the beef mixture, as well as 2 cups of shredded swiss once the misxture cooled. I also used the egg wash on the outside of the crusts and sprinkled with kosher salt and caraway seed. The dough was quite difficult to roll out and after these were cooked I thougth there was too much bread and not enough filling. However, I really enjoyed them and will be making them again! Next time I think I might add a drained can of diced tomatoes as well as a layer of mustard to the bread as another reviewer suggested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
These are pretty tasty little treats. I used my own dough. I left out the salt, but used the lemon pepper. Also used regualr cheddar cheese. Kind of a pain to fill, but once you bake them and stick in the freezer they are an awesome quick snack. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna K. Crossley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
We really enjoyed these overall. DH didn't like, thought they were bland, but the rest of the crew raved. I made my own dough in the bread maker and rolled out. Will make again and serve for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Big hit with the boys, they loved them. I put a layer of poupon mustard which added a nice kick to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because I have a German grandmother who still makes her own dough. I, however, do not. I also couldn't find frozen dough, except in rolls. Instead, I bought refrigerated pizza crust and pressed it out enough to make 6 bierocks from each can, 2 cans/recipe. The kids loved helping with that part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States