Bierocks (German Meat Turnovers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
The mixture was good, but I'm not sure about the overall recipe. I didn't have any lemon pepper, but followed the recipe otherwise. I tried the biscuit idea, but this wasn't actually easier. I think I will go with the traditional bread dough next time. I had TONS of filling leftover, so I used it for another meal or two. Will keep this in mind but will probably try others as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
easy to make, though not authentic, when made with biscuit dough. actually made 9 bierocks out of the recipe rather than 6. very hearty and good to take for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
My Mother would be offended with any biscuit dough, lemon pepper, worcestershire or caraway seed in a bierock recipe. We are Volga German, the story from Kansas is correct. We also live in Colorado, North and South Dakota, Nebraska, Wisconsin and many other states. We never called them "rocks" either! This is a tasty recipe, but not like the original. A good bread dough, cabbage, onion, ground beef,salt and pepper are what bierock are made with! I sometimes add a slice of American cheese when assembling them. My family prefers the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I followed the recipe as best as possible. They turned out really nicely. I brushed them with egg wash, and they just looked amazing, too. Beware, they eat like a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I LOVE bierocks... I have made these for over 20 years. The only thing I do differently is add shredded cheddar cheese. I adds so much to the flavor and almost has a cheeseburger type taste. My family loves these... BTY.. I do not use caraway seed... too over the top. My preference :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Filling was good - I added red pepper and a little dill and cumin seed since I didn't have any caraway. A tad bit bland so I will spice up further next time. Also, I added a 3 cheese blend. Couldn't find frozen bread dough so I used empanada wrappers - I'd really like to try the bread dough next time. Someone said just to use the rolls since they're already individual, I will try that. This made a lot which is great because I will freeze the extra for snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I make these using sauerkraut instead of cabbage. very additive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenesaw, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Dakota City, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
WONDERFUL recipe! The only thing to remember is to bring the dough to room temp first and let it raise at least a little, helps with rolling it out! I omitted the lemon pepper and just added pepper and didn't have carroway seeds, but very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Everything tasted really good (and I don't normally like cabbage). I rolled out the bread dough into 12-14 inch circles. I think the dough could have been rolled out even thinner (bigger circles). I had more meat filling than I had dough. I did use pillsbury crescent rolls for the rest of the meat filling. Those were a great size for my 2-year old who loved them! UPDATE: I read through the reviews and noticed someone used biscuit dough, so we tried that. It was great and a bit easier! I used 2 large cans (8 biscuits).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Everyone liked them, but the general consensus was that they could use more salt. Still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States