Bierocks (German Meat Turnovers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
these were very good. thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I used Rhodes bread dough and they were just too bready and dry. I love these and will have to try again with crescent rolls I guess based on the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IBTOUGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
ok so my husband changed this recipe alot when he cooked it, but this was thebase recipe he went off of. the dough - he used thed dough recipe from Pam's Bierocks. The dough turned out amazing. Soft and delicous! He used a chuck steak that he braised with the rest of the spices from the ingredients. Braised it for a few hours. The dough after it was made stayed in the fridge all night. The next day he added the meat after it was shredded to about a cup to a cup and a half of saurkraut and used that as the filling. Was very good. So we changed it quite a bit, but was very good. Just to give you some ideas of what you can do with this recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
only one word... AWSOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stormy Gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
These were awesome!!!!! Easy to make. I used bread dough - but agree that pizza dough or cresent biscuit can probably be used. Substitued Garlic lemon pepper for lemon pepper as that is all I had, added a bit more worcestershire sauce for flavor as I noted a few reviews said it needed something. Sea salt, instead of table salt. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
My family really enjoyed this! Easy to make and great with a salad. I will make this again and maybe use my own homemade dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
These tasted very close to the bierocks I grew up eating at my hometown bakery, and my family loved them! They were easy to make and my daughter had fun rolling the dough and stuffing them. We chose to leave out the caraway seeds and didn't feel anything was missing. We enjoyed them both plain or dipped in spicy stone ground mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I realy liked these and so did my family. Needs somthing though. Perhaps a dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was a very good recipe. I substituted 3 cups of sauerkraut for the cabbage though and added some shredded cheese in the middle of each bierock. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
This is very similar to a recipe my grandmother passed down to me from her grandmother. You can also use left over pot roast instead of ground beef, I also add shredded carrots to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a Paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States