Bierocks (German Meat Turnovers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
The filling was delicious but the bread ended up kinda chewy- and not in a good way. Maybe I need to try a different brand of dough or make it at home from scratch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Fantastic and authentic. I only need to add a tip. If you use frozen bread dough and do not make your own, be sure to get the six slices for the Bierocks correct the first time. It is difficult to reshape the dough back to form. I have made it both ways. Using bread dough I made myself and frozen bread dough. Both are equally good. I always have left over filling BUT it never goes to waist, I add it as a side dish or I top the Bierocks with it. OR just eat plain as a snack... Thank You for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Recipe makes a bunch! I made a full recipe of the filling which was really good then used a can of Grands Biscuits to make just enough for dinner for DH and myself. The rest of the filling froze well, so now I can put together a quick meal using a can of refrigerated biscuits and quick thawing a portion of the filling. I also served these with creamy horseradish mayo for dipping. Really added some nice 'zip' to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Loved it!!!!I used Pilsbury Grands flaky biscuits for the dough it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Oh my goodness! These were amazing!! All of the children loved this and especially Daddy!! We made it with our family homemade pizza crust recipe (that also doubles as a great bread loaf, too) and it was AMAZING!! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama and Daughters

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Only issue is too much caraway seed. Going to make again today but with less or maybe no caraway seed. Tip: Do not wait to drain after adding cabbage as cabbage absorbs all the grease. Drain before adding the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I usually love everything I try but this was just not our thing, my family really didn't enjoy it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Great recipe easy and tasty! Different too, we like it. My husband had been stationed in Germany yrs. ago and mentioned he'd been missing german food recently so I saw this and gave it a try. He said the flavors definitely reminded him of those days back in germany. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I have made these many times and this recipe is good just as it is written. I have changed it to fit our eating style, using frozen whole wheat bread dough and ground turkey. Still very very good. I freeze them and put them in my husbands lunch. He just heats them a bit in the microwave at work. We take to the beach, on day hikes. They are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This is very similar to my step-father's family recipe for bierock. They serve them hot with a brown gravy, but they are also good cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States