Bierock Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I loved this recipe!!!! My sister and I both agreed it tastes pretty close to the real bierocks mom used to make when we were kids. I did follow the other users comments. I prebaked the bottom crust, added seasoning to the meat (pepper and Mrs Dash's garlic blend), and I put the cheese under the dough. It came out perfect. I am self proclaimed non-cook who has just decided to learn to cook and it was so easy for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Used coleslaw shred instead of kraut. Husband absolutely loved it, he ate enough for at least 3 people.. that means its VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENSFIXINS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I decided to try this recipe because the ingredients reminded me of the "Hamburger Pies" that my grandma made when I was a little girl, and I never thought to ask her for her recipe before she passed. I was pleasantly surprised to find that this Bierock Casserole tasted just like my grandma's. I know that my grandma did not use prepared crescent rolls, but I don't mind saving time, especially when the taste did not suffer in the least. Thank you so much to whomever submitted this recipe. I can't wait to make this recipe for my dad, he will be thrilled. Also, all of my children loved this casserole. I definitely rate this recipe a five!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
followed others advice and cooked bottom for 10 min. added spices husband and son loved it they scraped the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Kind of odd, but tasty. I followed earlier suggestions about baking the bottom crust for 10 minutes, adding some water, flour and spices to the beef mixture and letting it kind of make a gravy, and mixing the cheese in with the beef rather than sprinkling on top. It was good, but we couldn't finish it all as it was extremely filling. I would probably make again with lots more tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
My family loved this! I used cabbage instead of sauerkraut and put some chopped garlic and it went over very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
My family looked at me like "you're kidding" when they cut into it and tasted it. Everyone thought it was unimpressive and a bit bland. My husband took leftovers to work and said it was much better with a dollop of cottage cheese mixed in. Not terribly bad but don't think I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHABBA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I had very high hopes for this dish as I like all the ingredients. Unfortunately, the results were far from what I expected. I managed 4-5 bites, but my husband and kids stopped eating after the first bite and went out to eat instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I loved this recipe, and so did my husband. Easy and delicious, and great left-over, too. For what more can I ask?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This recipe was perfect. My hubby had been craving his mother's Bierocks and had talked about them many times. I called her with this recipe and she gave me the lowdown on what to do and what NOT to do: 1. Prebake the bottom crust for about 10 minutes. 2. Brown beef, onion and ADD some seasonings (we just added seasoned salt and fresh pepper). 4. Then add sauerkraut (rinsed, drained, blotted) OR fresh cabbage that is shredded for coleslaw (as the original bierocks calls for fresh cabbage). You will just need to cook it until softened. 5. As for the 'binder' to keep the meat together some other reviewers had mentioned adding a can of creamed corn or cream of mushroom soup! Yikes! This made my mother-in-law shudder at the thought. Just sprinkle the beef mixture with 1-2 Tablespoons of flour and add 2/3 cup of water to make your own 'gravy'. 6. Put the cheese ON the meat and NOT on top of the crust. Anyway, my hubby loved it and it satisfied his craving for the bierocks of his youth. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States