Bierock Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was really good after a few modifications. After reading some of the other reviews, I browned my hamburger with a couple cloves of garlic and some onion, then seasoned it with garlic salt and black pepper to taste. I baked the base crust for about 10 minutes before topping it with the meat mixture. I also opted to mix 1/2 of the cheese with the meat mixture, sprinkling the remaining cheese on top. Next time I think I'll wait to sprinkle the cheese on top until the last five or so minutes of cooking, as I did not care for the crunch it created by cooking it the full 25 min. All in all, it was a yummy dinner and my husband said it was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
We did 2/3 ground beef and 1/3 spicy brkfst sausage; added diced green pepper & celery along with kraut and simmered until soft; seasoned meat with garlic powder, lemon pepper, black pepper, caraway seed & a splash of worchestershire sauce; stirred in cheddar/jack & mozzerella cheeses (about 1-1/2x the recipe amt). Baked bottom crust first, just til getting golden, and stirred in a bit of 1000 island dressing just before adding meat to casserole dish. Topped w/butter flake crescents (on hand) and sprinkled with grated parmesan cheese - then baked as directed. Hubby - who hates saurkraut - loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
We did not care for this, very bland even after seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Wow thanks! MY grandma used to make Bierocks for us when we were kids but I am seldom in the mood to make the dough and assemble them! This tastes just as good, is MUCH less mess and makes a bigger batch! I did season my beef with my favorite steak seasoning and garlic pepper but not too much. I wanted to make sure the sauerkraut shined through. I drained my sauerkraut but did not rinse it, I LOVE the taste of sauerkraut! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth James, Midwest Cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
It was very good! I added sausage, also. And lots of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Used luv2cook's suggestions and altered the recipe accordingly. We did enjoy it but felt it could use more flavor. I will make this again but I am going to use the saurecraut in place of the fresh cabbage and use more seasonings in the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe really helped me mix up the casseroles that I try to make on Sundays. It was very easy and I added a ton of seasoning and some mixed veggies and it really completed the meal for us. I also took the suggestion of adding the cheese to the inside of the dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherMelton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
liked it better using chopped cabbage and adding a can of cream of mushroom soup, also a sprinkling of cayenne pepper, but the sauerkraut was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was pretty good. Instead of using ground beef I used a shredded beef roast that I slow cooked all day first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I was looking for a good venison recipe. This fit the bill, although I modified it by adding a 27 oz can of kraut which I chopped up a bit and 8 oz of cream cheese. I originally had planned on adding sour cream, since this is a Polish recipe, but I had the cream cheese on hand. I think it would have been too thin had I used the sour cream. Also, next time, I plan on just trying a regular pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline Macri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States