Bierock Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I liked this casserole. it did have a very tangy taste due to the sauerkraut, but my hubby and I liked it very much. I only made 1/2 batch by pressing the crescent rolls out thin in a 8x8 pan. It probably would have been better with more bread, but I didn't want to spend that much on two cans of crescent rolls, being a cheap cook!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Bierocks are Runzas! Only this is way better than the ones I had at college in Nebraska! This was a quick, easy, filling meal. My husband & I scarfed it down, my 18mo son loved it, but my 5yo daughter wavered back & forth. I don't think we used enough cheese (we shredded our own & didn't know the equivalent), so next time we'll put in more. We used the suggestion of baking the crust first and making "gravy". Only problem is that it's not nearly as good leftover, so eat it while it's hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
EXCELLENT!! I made a few changes per others reviews. I used 1/2 head of fresh cabbage and steamed a little then added it to the ground beef, onion and seasonings (I used garlic powder, seasoned salt and pepper). I also sprinkled the ground beef mixture with a few TBS of flour and 2/3 or so cup of water to make a gravy. I then prebaked the bottom crust for about 10 minutes while I was putting the meat together. After putting the beef into the crust, I put the cheese over the meat, then the top crust. It was delicous! I couldn't believe my ULTRA picky 7 year old ate 2 servings! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Has a really intresting taste. was simple to make. We skipped the cheese and it was really good. Will be making again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This is a very homey and fulfilling recipe. I added seasonings to the meat of garlic powder, a little basil, and salt and pepper. I used about 1/2 cup of sour cream and 3/4 cup of cheddar cheese in the filling for a binder. I, personally, really liked the cheddar cheese on top of the roll topping. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I made this for just me+leftovers in a 8x8 pan. I used a whole head of cabbage to be more runza-like and only 1/2 lb of ground beef to be healthier. I only had red cabbage to use up, but it all tastes the same to me. Also, added a couple of beef bullion cubes to the hot mixture to add some beefy flavor without the calories. Laced in some swiss cheese and voila! The only thing I would change would be using frozen french bread dough next time to be more like the favor I'm used to. The cresent rolls didn't do it for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissCare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
we love this recipe & make it all the time. I love making it for new mothers - I usually get a lot of compliments. the only thing I do differently is add 1/2 tsp minced garlic & 1/8 tsp red pepper flakes to the meat/onion when cooking it. thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Foz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miltonvale, Kansas, USA
Living In: Clay Center, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was really good after a few modifications. After reading some of the other reviews, I browned my hamburger with a couple cloves of garlic and some onion, then seasoned it with garlic salt and black pepper to taste. I baked the base crust for about 10 minutes before topping it with the meat mixture. I also opted to mix 1/2 of the cheese with the meat mixture, sprinkling the remaining cheese on top. Next time I think I'll wait to sprinkle the cheese on top until the last five or so minutes of cooking, as I did not care for the crunch it created by cooking it the full 25 min. All in all, it was a yummy dinner and my husband said it was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
We did 2/3 ground beef and 1/3 spicy brkfst sausage; added diced green pepper & celery along with kraut and simmered until soft; seasoned meat with garlic powder, lemon pepper, black pepper, caraway seed & a splash of worchestershire sauce; stirred in cheddar/jack & mozzerella cheeses (about 1-1/2x the recipe amt). Baked bottom crust first, just til getting golden, and stirred in a bit of 1000 island dressing just before adding meat to casserole dish. Topped w/butter flake crescents (on hand) and sprinkled with grated parmesan cheese - then baked as directed. Hubby - who hates saurkraut - loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
We did not care for this, very bland even after seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States