Bierock Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Nice "different" type of casserole. East to prepare. This casserole would be good with left over corned beef and a little splash of thousand island dressing over meat also. Took advice from reviews & added fresh garlic & ground black pepper to meat mixture,( thought the garlic & onion powder would make it to salty w/ the basic salty taste of sauerkraut) & put cheese on top of meat instead of on top of dough. I used sauerkraut in the bag & drained and squeezed in paper towels till very dry so dough wouldn't come out doughy. I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
My family enjoyed this, and I will make it again, but it needs more flavor. One piece of advice for others: be sure to season the meat mixture to your taste. As the recipe is written, the mixture just tastes like plain cooked hamburger. Next time I will use pepper, garlic powder, etc., but I think it needs something else to give it some kick. I'm not sure what that is - I'll have to experiment. By the way, I served this with sour cream and applesauce. That's more a Russian thing than a German thing, but it worked great with this, and gave it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Excellent! I thought this was so good and easy, which is always a plus! I added Worcestershire sauce, garlic powder, onion powder, seasoned salt, and pepper to the beef while it was cooking. I also put the cheese on the meat mixture like some of the other viewers said they had done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
This was wonderful! and so quick and easy. I did add the saurkraut juice to the meat and onions while they were cooking and added some garlic,salt & pepper and tobasco for zip. The extrea liquid cooked off and left more flavor to the meat. We definately will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Very tasty, and quick. My family enjoyed the option of using pepper jack cheese. Easy prep and quick to the table. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM IN MISSOURI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
My husband grew up with this only they were folded more like calzones. After searching for 7 years for something like his grandmother's, I think I found a winner. He loved it! I am not a fan of sauerkraut, but it wasn't bad. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
It was great and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RENOTA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I would add a cream sauce to the meat before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Although we really loved this dish, I'm only giving it three stars because as written, it would have been fairly bland. I used ground turkey and added a lot of seasonings and worcestershire sauce to the meat mixture. Do yourself a favor and use bagged sauerkraut instead of the can. (much fresher taste) Also, using plain sauerkraut from the can or the bag doesn't do it justice. While browning my meat I put the kraut in a sauce pan and added crumbled cooked bacon and onion. I also added some caraway seeds. Cooking the kraut for a good thirty minutes makes a huge difference. I put the shredded cheese on the meat and seasoned my top crust with garlic and onion powders. Although I did enhance this recipe quite a bit, I certainly would never have thought of turning Bierocks into a casserole dish Cathy. Thanks so much for a great start!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This was a great dinner and made for wonderful leftovers. Try it with schredded pepper jack cheese for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States